aliens

Author Topic: Replacing sectoids?  (Read 3513 times)

Offline wolf619

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Replacing sectoids?
« on: March 29, 2018, 06:59:24 pm »
So far I've figured out how to change all the sectoid weapons to human weapons but how do I replace the sprites for the sectoids?
I want to replace the sprites with human sprites, just for fun. I'd need to replace the battlefield sprite and the corpse sprites as well.
Is there any total conversion mods that change all the basic stuff in the game I can look at for examples?
Any help would be appreciated thanks!

Edit: Ok I think I figured out how to add the the type of alien I want through a mod, but is there any good mods that replace vanilla stuff?
I'd like to see how they did it! Thanks again!
« Last Edit: March 29, 2018, 07:32:13 pm by wolf619 »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11452
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2018, 07:51:27 pm »
This is the vanilla Sectoid armour:

Code: [Select]
armors:
  - type: SECTOID_ARMOR0
    spriteSheet: SECTOID.PCK
    corpseBattle:
      - STR_SECTOID_CORPSE
    frontArmor: 4
    sideArmor: 3
    rearArmor: 2
    underArmor: 2
    damageModifier:
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.2
      - 1.6
      - 0.0
    loftempsSet: [ 2 ]

If you want to make a mod which changes Sectoid sprites to standard X-Com sprites, you should do this in your ruleset:


Code: [Select]
armors:
  - type: SECTOID_ARMOR0
    spriteSheet: XCOM_0.PCK

This will change the sprite and leave everything as it is.
Of course it's not great modding yet, but it's a start.

Offline wolf619

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2018, 09:14:20 pm »
can I do this with out modifying my main ruleset? How would I do this in a custom ruleset?

Code: [Select]
Armors:
  - type: SECTOID_ARMOR0
    spriteSheet: XCOM_0.PCK
    corpseBattle:
      - STR_CORPSE
    frontArmor: 4
    sideArmor: 3
    rearArmor: 2
    underArmor: 2
    damageModifier:
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.2
      - 1.6
      - 0.0
    loftempsSet: [ 2 ]

I tried adding that as a rule set but it doesn't seem to change anything.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2018, 09:16:11 pm by wolf619 »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11452
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2018, 09:36:54 pm »
If you simply plop this ruleset into the game ruleset folder, then it may be written before the original file, thus it is overwritten when loading game data.
What you should do is to create a mod in the mods folder, place your ruleset there, preferable add a metdata.yml.
Or you can modify the original ruleset, but this is not recommended.

Offline wolf619

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2018, 09:42:29 pm »
 I entered that code exactly intoDocuments\OpenXcom\mods\Sectoids\Ruleset\armors.rul and there is no change, the sectoids still look the same as normal. Am I missing something? I don't understand what I'm doing wrong.

Code: [Select]
Armors:
  - type: SECTOID_ARMOR0
    spriteSheet: XCOM_0.PCK
    corpseBattle:
      - STR_CORPSE
    frontArmor: 4
    sideArmor: 3
    rearArmor: 2
    underArmor: 2
    damageModifier:
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 1.2
      - 1.6
      - 0.0
    loftempsSet: [ 2 ]

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11452
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2018, 09:52:19 pm »
Make sure your ruleset is enabled, I guess.

If it doesn't help, I suggest going on OXC Discord and asking people directly.

Offline wolf619

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2018, 09:54:47 pm »
I've turned the mod on in the game and it loads fine, but nothing changes in game.  The sectoids still look like sectoids.

Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2018, 11:57:19 pm »
Capitalization matters, try making the first line "armors:" instead of "Armors:".

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11452
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2018, 12:44:43 am »
Capitalization matters, try making the first line "armors:" instead of "Armors:".

Lol I missed that. I'm a bad quality person. :(

Offline wolf619

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Replacing sectoids?
« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2018, 04:51:29 am »
LOL IT WORKS! Creeped me out when I saw xcom members crawling around everywhere lol
Thanks for your help!