Author Topic: [Solved] Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?  (Read 8877 times)

Offline Absle

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
[Solved] Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?
« on: January 30, 2018, 04:41:03 am »
Sorry if this information is elsewhere, but I can't figure it out for the life of me. All of the mod installation guides I've found reference an ../Documents/OpenXcom/mods folder to put my mods into, but when I did so it didn't see any of them. I then read that if that folder is missing (wasn't for me, but I thought maybe it was broken somehow) that running the game would create a new one; well I deleted the folder that was there, but it didn't create a new one after running it. I did a complete re-install of OXCE+, clearing out the old OpenXcom folder in the Program Files (x86) folder and created a new one, copied the OXCE+ files into it and then the OG files, but running the game again still didn't create a new one.

Possibly worth mentioning: I have two drives on my computer. One is my SSD, which is the C:/ drive and where the program files are being installed, but my Documents folder is on the hard drive, which is the D:/ drive. I suspect that could be part of the problem, but I wouldn't know how to fix it.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2023, 04:43:23 pm by Meridian »

Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2018, 05:38:33 am »
By default, OXCE+ should create the new mods folder in Documents folder on the C:\ drive for Windows IIRC, so I'd check there for the newly created folder.  If you want to change which folder it uses for the mods, you need to create a batch (.bat) file to run the .exe with command line arguments.  Before you do that, I'd check the drive C first.

Offline Absle

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?
« Reply #2 on: January 30, 2018, 06:06:57 am »
By default, OXCE+ should create the new mods folder in Documents folder on the C:\ drive for Windows IIRC, so I'd check there for the newly created folder.  If you want to change which folder it uses for the mods, you need to create a batch (.bat) file to run the .exe with command line arguments.  Before you do that, I'd check the drive C first.

There's no openxcom or mods folder in any of the C:/ drive documents folders, but I'm not surprised because I moved my user files over to the hard drive the first day I installed windows on this computer. How would I do the batch file fix?

Offline Absle

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2018, 06:14:13 am »
I found a solution.

I'm still curious about what a "proper" way of doing this is and what exactly is going on with my installation, and I'm especially curious what the batch file fix would look like, but for posterity the fix I found was in:
C:\Users\<USERNAME>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\OpenXcom\user\mods
Just placing my mod folder in there at least added it to my mod load list in-game, I'm about to see if it actually loads and works correctly.

Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?
« Reply #4 on: January 30, 2018, 06:26:54 am »
Oh yeah, I forgot about that default path. As for creating a batch file, I wouldn't do it unless you are somewhat familiar with using the command prompt.  Basically all you need to do is create a text file containing the command you'd type into the CMD prompt to pass arguments to the game. For example, if you were to run the CMD prompt from the directory where your .exe is located, you could tell it to read a user file in that same directory with the command
Code: [Select]
.\OpenXcomEx -user ".\user"

Offline Absle

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?
« Reply #5 on: January 30, 2018, 07:56:02 am »
Oh yeah, I forgot about that default path. As for creating a batch file, I wouldn't do it unless you are somewhat familiar with using the command prompt.  Basically all you need to do is create a text file containing the command you'd type into the CMD prompt to pass arguments to the game. For example, if you were to run the CMD prompt from the directory where your .exe is located, you could tell it to read a user file in that same directory with the command
Code: [Select]
.\OpenXcomEx -user ".\user"

Actually, it's not working. I keep getting a segmentation fault and an openxcom.log that doesn't seem to have much useful in it.

Spoiler:
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Data folder is:
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Data search is:
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   - D:\Users\<MYUSERNAME>\Documents\OpenXcom\
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   - C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenXcom
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   - C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenXcom
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   User folder is: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenXcom\user\
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Config folder is: C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenXcom\user\
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Options loaded successfully.
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   SDL initialized successfully.
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   SDL_mixer initialized successfully.
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   requested file not found: openxcom.png
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Attempting to set display to 1920x1080x8...
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Display set to 1920x1080x8.
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Loading data...
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Scanning standard mods in 'standard'...
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Scanning user mods in 'C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenXcom\user\mods'...
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Mapping resource files...
[30-01-2018_00-46-48]   [INFO]   Resources files mapped successfully.
[30-01-2018_00-46-49]   [INFO]   Loading fonts... Font.dat
[30-01-2018_00-46-49]   [INFO]   Loading extra resources from ruleset...
[30-01-2018_00-46-50]   [INFO]   Loading custom palettes from ruleset...
[30-01-2018_00-46-50]   [INFO]   Data loaded successfully.
[30-01-2018_00-46-50]   [INFO]   Loading language...
[30-01-2018_00-46-50]   [INFO]   Language loaded successfully.
[30-01-2018_00-46-50]   [INFO]   OpenXcom started successfully!
[30-01-2018_00-46-50]   [INFO]   Using software scaling routine. For best results, try an OpenGL filter.
[30-01-2018_00-46-55]   [INFO]   Attempting to set display to 1920x1080x8...
[30-01-2018_00-46-55]   [INFO]   Display set to 1920x1080x8.
[30-01-2018_00-46-57]   [FATAL]   A fatal error has occurred: Segmentation fault. This usually indicates something missing in a mod.
[30-01-2018_00-47-13]   [FATAL]   OpenXcom has crashed: Segmentation fault. This usually indicates something missing in a mod.
Extra information has been saved to openxcom.log.
If this error was unexpected, please report it to the developers.

I can't figure it out. I tried just putting the mod folder in the various file locations in mentions in the log, but none of that worked either. Very frustrating that this isn't more straightforward, surely it must be intended that I be able to mod using OXCE+? And why is it still not making the ../Documents/OpenXcom folder that is always referenced?
« Last Edit: January 30, 2018, 08:00:06 am by Absle »

Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: Where do I install mods for OXCE+ ?
« Reply #6 on: January 30, 2018, 03:44:07 pm »
The D:\Users\<YOURUSERNAME>\Documents\OpenXcom folder is where the game is searching for the files from the original game and the data folders that OpenXcom uses for the default mods.  As to why it doesn't pick there for the user and config folders, my guess is that looking there for that information is lower on the priority list that the locations on your C:\ drive.  Segfaults usually happen when a mod has something wrong with it, like a mis-typed reference.  To be clear, did you enable FMP in the options>mods menu, and then get this message?  Or is it from attempting to run OpenXcomEx from the command prompt?