Author Topic: [SOLVED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?  (Read 4312 times)

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
    • View Profile
[SOLVED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« on: July 15, 2017, 01:44:09 pm »
I thought I had set alien bases to use a different race layout, but I needed to spawn new bases to test it. I started a new game and reached the point in which I assaulted a base for the first time, and the aliens there were standard Muton race.

This is the code I have in the ruleset:
Code: [Select]
alienMissions:
    raceWeights:
      0:
        STR_SECTOID_BASE: 30
        STR_SNAKEMAN_BASE: 20
        STR_FLOATER_BASE: 50
      1:
        STR_SECTOID_BASE: 40
        STR_SNAKEMAN_BASE: 20
        STR_FLOATER_BASE: 40
      3:
        STR_SECTOID_BASE: 10
        STR_SNAKEMAN_BASE: 40
        STR_MUTON_BASE: 30
        STR_FLOATER_BASE: 20
      5:
        STR_SECTOID_BASE: 10
        STR_SNAKEMAN_BASE: 30
        STR_ETHEREAL_BASE: 10
        STR_MUTON_BASE: 20
        STR_FLOATER_BASE: 20
        STR_MIXED_OPERATIONS: 10
      7:
        STR_SECTOID_BASE: 10
        STR_SNAKEMAN_BASE: 20
        STR_ETHEREAL_BASE: 30
        STR_MUTON_BASE: 20
        STR_FLOATER_BASE: 10
        STR_MIXED_OPERATIONS: 10
alienRaces:
  - id: STR_SECTOID_BASE
    members:
      - STR_SECTOID_COMMANDER
      - STR_SECTOID_LEADER
      - STR_SECTOID_ENGINEER
      - STR_SECTOID_MEDIC
      - STR_SECTOID_NAVIGATOR
      - STR_SECTOID_SOLDIER
      - STR_CYBERDISC_TERRORIST
      - STR_CYBERDISC_TERRORIST
  - id: STR_SNAKEMAN_BASE
    members:
      - STR_ETHEREAL_COMMANDER
      - STR_SNAKEMAN_LEADER
      - STR_SNAKEMAN_ENGINEER
      - STR_SNAKEMAN_SOLDIER
      - STR_SNAKEMAN_NAVIGATOR
      - STR_SNAKEMAN_SOLDIER
      - STR_CHRYSSALID_TERRORIST
      - STR_CHRYSSALID_TERRORIST
  - id: STR_ETHEREAL_BASE
    members:
      - STR_ETHEREAL_COMMANDER
      - STR_ETHEREAL_LEADER
      - STR_ETHEREAL_LEADER
      - STR_ETHEREAL_SOLDIER
      - STR_ETHEREAL_SOLDIER
      - STR_MUTON_SOLDIER
      - STR_SECTOPOD_TERRORIST
      - STR_SECTOPOD_TERRORIST
  - id: STR_MUTON_BASE
    members:
      - STR_ETHEREAL_COMMANDER
      - STR_ETHEREAL_LEADER
      - STR_MUTON_ENGINEER
      - STR_ETHEREAL_SOLDIER
      - STR_MUTON_NAVIGATOR
      - STR_MUTON_SOLDIER
      - STR_SILACOID_TERRORIST
      - STR_CELATID_TERRORIST
  - id: STR_FLOATER_BASE
    members:
      - STR_SECTOID_COMMANDER
      - STR_FLOATER_LEADER
      - STR_FLOATER_ENGINEER
      - STR_FLOATER_MEDIC
      - STR_FLOATER_NAVIGATOR
      - STR_FLOATER_SOLDIER
      - STR_REAPER_TERRORIST
      - STR_REAPER_TERRORIST
  - id: STR_MIXED_OPERATIONS
    retaliation: false
    members:
      - STR_ETHEREAL_COMMANDER
      - STR_SECTOID_LEADER
      - STR_MUTON_ENGINEER
      - STR_FLOATER_MEDIC
      - STR_SNAKEMAN_NAVIGATOR
      - STR_MUTON_SOLDIER
      - STR_FLOATER_SOLDIER
      - STR_SNAKEMAN_SOLDIER
« Last Edit: July 25, 2017, 10:52:33 pm by The Reaver of Darkness »

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2017, 02:21:11 pm »
Bases can be generated by either Alien Base or Alien Infiltration missions. You need to assign the different race layouts to the raceWeights of both alienMissions

As an alternative you can specify a race to be always assigned to that base on alienDeployments, like the Cydonia ones
« Last Edit: July 15, 2017, 02:24:37 pm by Hobbes »

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2017, 11:09:08 am »
That's interesting, I didn't know that.


I think I like that, actually. Players can use that info to their advantage. Also, I think I might have made my game too brutal when I put psionic aliens in every base, so perhaps it'll work well to have a variety.

Thanks!

--- posts merged ---

I am re-opening this question because I've gone through several alien bases and have yet to find any that contain the new alien base races. Three of the bases I went through were not within country boundaries.

Is is likely that this just happened by chance, or is it more likely that my changes aren't working?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 11:46:43 am by Solarius Scorch »

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2017, 03:30:07 pm »
Three of the bases I went through were not within country boundaries.

Alien Bases are placed using the missionZones defined on regions, not the countries boundaries

Quote
Is is likely that this just happened by chance, or is it more likely that my changes aren't working?

A sure way to check is to increase the odds of your changes to 100% and set to zero all the other alien base missions - if no bases are generated afterwards then there's something wrong with your changes.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2017, 12:30:56 am »
Alien Bases are placed using the missionZones defined on regions, not the countries boundaries

A sure way to check is to increase the odds of your changes to 100% and set to zero all the other alien base missions - if no bases are generated afterwards then there's something wrong with your changes.

You're right, and I found an even easier way to check.
Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_ANTARCTICA
    missionWeights:
      STR_ALIEN_RESEARCH: 25
      STR_ALIEN_BASE: 35

I have a base in Antarctica which is race: MUTON, not MUTON_BASE. I don't know what I've done wrong, but clearly alien bases are not getting set up correctly.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2017, 12:30:22 pm »
Can you post the whole ruleset and a save file of your current game?

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2017, 01:46:02 pm »
Can you post the whole ruleset and a save file of your current game?

Here's the mod and save file.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2017, 02:23:50 pm »
Here's the mod and save file.

Thanks

I think this is what you're missing:

Code: [Select]
alienMissions:
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_RESEARCH
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_HARVEST
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_ABDUCTION
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATION
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_BASE
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_TERROR
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_RETALIATION

Just add those to the beginning of alienMissions, before your customized missions. The issue is that when you add a new entries to alienMissions (and other parts of the ruleset), they don't replace any existing entries with the same name but they are combined together. To fully get rid of the old settings you need to first delete the old entry.

I also noticed that the alienRaces used on your new entry for ALIEN_INFILTRATION are the same as vanilla. Since you seem to be testing everything on Antarctica that shouldn't be a problem since there aren't any countries (or infiltration missions).

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2017, 03:02:17 pm »
Here's the mod and save file.

The attached mod is version 0.8.1 and the save was created using mod version 0.9.2.

So likely Hobbes (and I) was looking at the old ruleset... just saying.
You really have a mess with OpenXcom and mod versions you're using...

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
    • View Profile
Re: [RE-OPENED] Problem with race on Alien Base Mission?
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2017, 10:52:16 pm »
Thanks

I think this is what you're missing:

Code: [Select]
alienMissions:
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_RESEARCH
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_HARVEST
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_ABDUCTION
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATION
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_BASE
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_TERROR
  - delete: STR_ALIEN_RETALIATION

That's probably it. It takes forever to test so unless you hear back from me again we can assume it's fixed. I deleted all the missions and made sure my versions have all of the details plus my changes.


The attached mod is version 0.8.1 and the save was created using mod version 0.9.2.

So likely Hobbes (and I) was looking at the old ruleset... just saying.
You really have a mess with OpenXcom and mod versions you're using...
I hadn't made any changes to the alienMissions ruleset since a ways back before I migrated the code from Reaver's Alien Mix. Which version of the mod you check shouldn't even matter.


Edit 24 July 2018: This is fixed, however it would seem that the majority of bases are created through infiltration missions rather than base missions.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2018, 08:02:21 pm by The Reaver of Darkness »