aliens

Author Topic: A thread for little questions  (Read 1145405 times)

Offline 2much

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3855 on: May 05, 2024, 03:28:09 am »
Where is the default deployment location for large units in the airtruck?  Quick Battle is showing me second floor.

Offline RSSwizard

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3856 on: May 21, 2024, 01:34:20 am »
What exactly is the purpose of being given the Little Bird with a built in chaingun... it cant stand up to anything that shows up st the beginning of the game...

Online Delian

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3857 on: May 21, 2024, 02:09:13 am »
Did you perhaps not put good pilots on it? Little Bird can stand up to most early game vessels. Bandit Car, Bandit Wartruck, Highway Convoy, Sandcrawler, Rogue Courier, Highwaymen Hoverpod, Black Helicopter, etc... probably also Bandit Zeppelin with two weapons and good pilots. I think Necroplane is too strong for it, and Ninjas will obviously wreck it. Anyway, put XTRA ARMOR on it if your pilots are crap and only use CHEM-TANK if you got no choice.

The main benefit of Little Bird is the hidden 12x Glamour that you get on ground missions with it. This glamour also gives up to +144 additional mission score. Well, assuming you can finish those missions before the glamour decays.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2024, 02:27:32 am by Delian »

Offline RSSwizard

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3858 on: May 21, 2024, 06:27:34 am »
Did you perhaps not put good pilots on it?
The only stuff that shows up early game that it can actually catch up with are Zeppelins and those Ninja Prop Planes, and bandit Armored Cars.

Best gals I had by month 3-4 only had like +15% acc and maybe +10% dodge as pilots. And that's pick of the litter. Actually does good hits on a ninja prop plane and only takes about 1/3 damage capacity but then the enemy plane just runs off.

By the time I just got Aircar... I now also have a Double 25mm cannon from a landed cutter, and ive got a peasant sniper with good +Acc as a pilot. So thats why I asked WTF is the point of the Heli when I basically just skip past it now.

Good note about the glamour, I hadn't noticed that. Range sucks but it can be shipped to a base closer to the crash/mission and maybe reach it that way (can the damn gun be used on the ground?). Reminds me a little bit of the 40k meme of the commisar ordering the tank to get closer so he can hit them with his sword.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2024, 06:34:30 am by RSSwizard »

Offline bublebree

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3859 on: May 25, 2024, 09:38:59 pm »
Hello,

I recently got back to the xpiratez mod and I found a feature that suprised me.

When you select equipment for troops while craft is in base, when you specificaly assign items to individual soldiers, the selection of items at bottom area (the "ground" zone) shows ALL the equipment in the base, not just items that are assigned to that aircraft. While I can see how it can be usefull it also brings a complication when your base has too many weapons and items (more that you practicaly use, but you keep it just in case :-) ), the selection zone gets too big and finding any specific item is too difficult. Especialy since you can only browse in one direction.

My question is, is it possible to dissable this feature, either temporarily or permanently in my game?

 I play latest version N8, but would expect this feature is probably related to OXCE and not xpiratez mod.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11529
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3860 on: May 26, 2024, 12:47:50 am »
Use quicksearch (the 'q' key).

Offline Poulpiche

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3861 on: May 29, 2024, 12:07:38 am »
Hello everyone

this is the first time I've seen this. when you link the equipment for the troops to the ship that has to transport them, on the far right, before, I had the quantity allocated directly. now I have a sort of separation, like X/+Y.

The problem is that this obviously varies according to changes in the crew, and I've already found myself on a mission with the usual equipment that had stayed at the base.

does anyone know how i can “correct” this ?

thanks in advance


Offline RSSwizard

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 768
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3862 on: May 29, 2024, 05:19:15 am »
Use quicksearch (the 'q' key).
how do you do that on the android/phone version?

Offline MotherAce

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
QoL query: Research menu sorting order
« Reply #3863 on: June 01, 2024, 02:29:48 am »
Anyone know if its possible to change the default choice? Either already, or who to pester about modding it in? I always sort by "cost", and it would be convenient to set it as default, to avoid picking it manually each time I pick a new subject to study.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8713
    • View Profile
Re: QoL query: Research menu sorting order
« Reply #3864 on: June 01, 2024, 11:58:49 am »
Anyone know if its possible to change the default choice? Either already, or who to pester about modding it in? I always sort by "cost", and it would be convenient to set it as default, to avoid picking it manually each time I pick a new subject to study.

Ctrl + Alt + click on "New project" button

Offline Ultimoos

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3865 on: June 01, 2024, 03:56:41 pm »
Hello everyone

this is the first time I've seen this. when you link the equipment for the troops to the ship that has to transport them, on the far right, before, I had the quantity allocated directly. now I have a sort of separation, like X/+Y.

The problem is that this obviously varies according to changes in the crew, and I've already found myself on a mission with the usual equipment that had stayed at the base.

does anyone know how i can “correct” this ?

thanks in advance

This happens because you have "Alternate craft equipment management" option on. It's one of my favorite features but it requires getting used to it. Especially when you do not have enough spare equipment. If you have troubles just turn it off in advanced options.

Offline Poulpiche

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3866 on: June 01, 2024, 10:10:04 pm »
This happens because you have "Alternate craft equipment management" option on. It's one of my favorite features but it requires getting used to it. Especially when you do not have enough spare equipment. If you have troubles just turn it off in advanced options.

thanks a lot for the answer, I'll have a look at the advanced options

Offline Ruberto

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3867 on: June 04, 2024, 10:18:53 pm »
Do I need to edit something in the save file when upgrading game from Tiger & tentacle to the Labirinth version?

Offline Fugazza

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3868 on: June 12, 2024, 02:57:30 am »
Besides ingame.... What others ways I can check the Bootypedia? I mean, I know there's the Netify web but that makes my browser freeze.

Online Delian

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
Re: A thread for little questions
« Reply #3869 on: June 12, 2024, 05:22:27 am »
Besides ingame.... What others ways I can check the Bootypedia? I mean, I know there's the Netify web but that makes my browser freeze.
In your xpz folder there's a xpedia2.1.zip file. Open the zip file and put xpedia2 folder into the xpz folder.
Go to the xpedia2 folder and run xpedia.bat. That will run a local version of Xpedia browser app.

If it's freezing for you, then... it could be because the app is too resource intensive for your PC. The main reason for that is because its search implementation is super inefficient.
Here's what I did. Edit xpedia.js file. Find the line with "this.articles = new import_js_worker_search.default();" and replace it with "return;". Also, replace "findArticles(query) {" with "findArticles(query) { return;"
This will disable searching in the Xpedia app; the app will start faster and consume 100MB instead of 1000MB of RAM. I never use the search (I just go to the right section and use Ctrl+F), so it's not a problem for me, but others may find the lack of global search feature inconvenient. Anyway, if that doesn't help, then there's no other way to look at Xpedia.