aliens

Author Topic: Hello there, new to game and I have some questions  (Read 5447 times)

Offline Kazimiera

• Squaddie
    • View Profile
Hello there, new to game and I have some questions
« on: November 20, 2016, 11:30:35 am »
Hello there.

this is my first time to play classic x-com game. used to play a lot of this kind of games before(JA, Silentstorm etc) and one of my friend suggested try this moded x-com, and it does quickly hooked me up :3
 after some fail attempt to survive early stage. slowly understand of how to play this game. and I was managed to survive first base attack event that was really very hard. yet, there some newbie questions is still unsolved.
 couldn't find any community about this games in my country, I have to ask here sorry for my poor grammer. <3

Q1) the Smoke Grenade
 Logically, smoke in most tactical games is used mainly to block enemy's line of sight to gain free maneuver, while forcing them to move from their well defended position right?
 However, in this game, smokes often lead to inappropriate situations for me. when I deploy smokes on the known enemy position, somehow they know where my squad is. While my squad often fails to acquire visiblity on them and getting retaliated hard.
  and when I deploy smoke on my team defensively, or at the start of mission. Sometimes getting attacks through smoke while my team is blinded. sometime it works as I expected though. mostly they don't.
 It's hard to watch losing mutual support within the squad too.

Q2) Stat growth
 it seems, unlike the remake one, stats raise with relevant actions. (ex. shooting increase gun stat)
 then, As long as I manage to keep one of my team members to survive long enoguh, could he achieve max stats on everything? or are there total stat cap to prevent this?

Q3) Area Attack
 How do you aim the tiles where hostile units that blocked sight stand, if attacker could see that area. or when I want throw explosive over there.