aliens

Author Topic: Introduce yourself  (Read 184141 times)

Offline Pandemonium

• Sergeant
  • Evil round every corner Careful not to step in any
    • View Profile
Re: Introduce yourself
« Reply #240 on: August 06, 2021, 10:00:42 pm »
Hello all! I'm a 30-something-ish woman from the southern US. Pandemonium is my gamer-tag across multiple platforms. I'm a believer in the paranormal, including the UFO/abduction phenomena. However, my preferred explanation for that in particular isn't aliens. I love anything to do with history, world myths, science and physics or interstellar subjects. I have a Bachelor of Science majoring in General Science, minoring in World History.

I'm new here but an X-Com veteran. I've played X-Com since 1995. I'd heard of OpenXcom before but hadn't gotten around to installing it until this last weekend. I did a vanilla play-through on easy in a day, just to refresh my understanding and strategy of the timeless classic. I've also played it's successors.

I'm an old hat at the mod stuff but I've never dipped more than a toe or two into the modding itself. I've made simple mods for Stellaris, Vampires the Masquerade Bloodlines, Civilization 5, and some sprite changes to X-Com Apocalypse. I got my start in the old DOS based hex editors altering games like, Dune, X-Com, Afterlife, etc. I like the graphical mods more so than the rule changing mods or conversions.

My favorite memory of X-Com is from playing as a kid. I'd stay up well past my bedtime and play with the sound turned down so I wouldn't alert my parents. As a kid I believed aliens were real and really visiting people. I remember being worried that if they knew how much I enjoyed blasting Sectoids in the head they'd be upset with me! Hahahaha

Offline Chuckebaby

• Colonel
  • Chrysalis are people too
    • View Profile
« Reply #241 on: January 27, 2023, 12:30:09 pm »