Author Topic: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke  (Read 4646 times)

Offline Cooper

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 116
  • No line of fire
    • View Profile
[GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« on: May 03, 2016, 08:57:45 pm »
This mod replaces the smoke graphics with less distracting ones.
Choose between animated or static smoke. The mod does not change the effectiveness of the smoke, only the graphics.

By the way I chose to publish the mod on the mod portal, putting a download-link in the description. Even if the upload function is broken, its still working good as a overview of mods IMO.
https://www.openxcom.com/mod/cooper-039-s-smoke

Downloads:
Normal Version (reccomended)
Static smoke
TFTD Version!
« Last Edit: July 17, 2016, 01:24:44 am by Cooper »

Offline new_civilian

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 01:11:55 pm »
Works fine.
There is one minor problem on white/light-colored terrain, though, it is very hard to see if there is smoke at all, especially when using the static smoke.
Not sure how that could be changed, though, as it's not a fault of your mod, but caused by the indexed color pallettes of XCom....

Offline Cooper

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 116
  • No line of fire
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2016, 03:22:49 pm »
Works fine.
There is one minor problem on white/light-colored terrain, though, it is very hard to see if there is smoke at all, especially when using the static smoke.
Not sure how that could be changed, though, as it's not a fault of your mod, but caused by the indexed color pallettes of XCom....

Hmm that's strange, I tried all the different terrains and display filters and it looked fine to me. Do you have a picture?
Maybe it would help to add more dark pixels.

Offline new_civilian

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2016, 05:13:36 pm »
Sorry, no picture, but iirc it was on the tundrapolar terrain (tested it in X-Piratez).
And it is not a big issue, after a while you get used to it and then it is ok.
I was/am using the thick custom smoke mod until now, which produced incredibly thick smoke, it's just a matter of getting used to the new look.

Offline Hazard

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2016, 09:32:02 pm »
I like this. I switched to the animated version from the X-Piratez standard smoke (Robin's smoke, I think?), and this is IMHO even better than that. Good job, and thank you.

Offline Cooper

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 116
  • No line of fire
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2016, 01:11:05 am »
Thanks, glad you like it!

Offline shadics

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 58
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2016, 07:49:59 am »
could be made this mod for TFTD version? i have problems with the boobles :P

Offline Cooper

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 116
  • No line of fire
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2016, 10:06:04 pm »
could be made this mod for TFTD version? i have problems with the boobles :P
Sure why not. I dont know how to mod for TFTD but I guess making it compatible to TFTD could be done in a few seconds. So if someone could tell me..

..if it is enough to replace master: "xcom1" with master: "xcom2" in the metadata file?

Or does this have to be changed as well?
Code: [Select]
extraSprites:
  - type: SMOKE.PCK
    height: 40
    width: 384
    subX: 32
    subY: 40
    files:
      8: Resources/CoopersSmoke/smoke.gif

I dont have TFTD on my computer so I can't test it.

Offline Starving Poet

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #8 on: July 01, 2016, 11:06:08 pm »
I've been getting my mods setup for TFTD and all you have to do is change the master in metadata.yml to "*" instead of "xcom1" - otherwise it works perfectly.

--- posts merged ---

^^ Not exactly correct - there's another smoke sprite used for above ground missions and a slight change to the ruleset - I fixed the palette on the above ground smoke to not be green but I think the green works underwater - makes it look silty, despite the fact that it's supposed to be dye.  Otherwise if you want a gray underwater smoke you'd need to make a separate mod.

Updated Mod attached.

« Last Edit: July 02, 2016, 10:08:20 am by Solarius Scorch »

Offline Cooper

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 116
  • No line of fire
    • View Profile
Re: [GRAPHICS] Cooper's Smoke
« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2016, 10:11:38 pm »
Updated Mod attached.
Awesome! I've uploaded it to the mod portal. (yes now its actually working again  :o )