Author Topic: Mods and code changes.  (Read 10894 times)

Offline yrizoud

• Commander
    • View Profile
Re: Mods and code changes.
« Reply #15 on: February 17, 2016, 04:56:03 pm »
I'm the one who has to apologize, you're new here and I have no idea what background you have   :-[ - I questioned your statements because you started about a Basescape "gameplay" feature, and somehow got sidetracked to changing the entire graphic layer - I didn't want to let you underestimate the tasks that you mention.

I understand barely half you describe of the fragment shader :D I got strong experience of CPU-bound coding and graphical applications, but my only actual experience with a GPU-bound API is by converting my SDL1 painting program to the SDL2 API with a DirectX back-end (and thus indexed paletted graphics into GPU textures in RGB color space - painting them is free, but drawing XOR lines is a nightmare).
I hope you didn't intend to use 8-bit paletted textures, I did some research recently and they are basically not supported on video cards. For example with OpenGL :
https://feedback.wildfiregames.com/report/opengl/feature/GL_EXT_paletted_texture
I heard many times of the "trick" of using a random 8bpp format (ex: greyscale) + a 256-pixel texture to store the lookup and a shader to do the conversion - but when I look for an actual case of somebody using it, I don't find any. I don't know if there's a catch.

So far, a strong argument for keeping the 8bit internal mode in OpenXcom is that it's supported on every SDL platform (which can range from a work/gamestation to a tiny 10-year-old handheld console). The resulting bitmap can be processed by any kinds of "rendering filters" - the default being SDL's own software renderer, which is the fastest I've seen to process a index->RGB video mode. Like, no problem even on a AGP x2 videocard of 1999.