Author Topic: Old OXCE+ discussion thread  (Read 244674 times)

Offline Alex_D

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1680 on: September 04, 2018, 10:47:36 am »
(long time hiatus, re-playing Piratez, greatly surprised by all the good changes in the mod and the base OXCE+ program).
Since it's a feature of OXCE+, this thread may be the right place to ask this question:
Is it possible when doing transfers between bases to filter and show only the items already at the destination ? Like it's Program dependent or mod dependent ?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5388
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1681 on: September 04, 2018, 11:11:26 am »
Is it possible when doing transfers between bases to filter and show only the items already at the destination ? Like it's Program dependent or mod dependent ?

It's program dependent.

Offline Alex_D

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1682 on: September 04, 2018, 09:34:19 pm »
It's program dependent.

How worthy is the feature to be included in the to-do list of updates for OXCE+ ?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5388
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1683 on: September 05, 2018, 12:23:35 am »
How worthy is the feature to be included in the to-do list of updates for OXCE+ ?

I like how careful your question is :)

I've put it on the todolist... if there is a "non-disturbing" way to sneak it into the existing GUI, I'll try...
... one more question though... can you describe in which situations would this feature be useful to you? So that I have an idea how it will be used...

Offline Alex_D

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1684 on: September 05, 2018, 12:56:03 am »
I like how careful your question is :)

I've put it on the todolist... if there is a "non-disturbing" way to sneak it into the existing GUI, I'll try...
... one more question though... can you describe in which situations would this feature be useful to you? So that I have an idea how it will be used...

My day-time job deals a lot with "minefield" questions, so it came "naturally" at the time of posting (yes, I'm at work ATM).  :)

As per situations. I'm playing Piratez at the moment and my interaction comes from OXCE+ and the mod. I see a pull down menu on the top left that allows the filtering of items based on all sort of categories.  I see also pull down menus on the craft inventory screen, like the one that says "equipped", where one can "top-off" items as needed. A similar feature may come useful for bases.

My intended use is for example, if I have assigned certain satellite bases to store each different class of items, like one base for craft parts, another for raw materials, another for surplus weapons, etc. Then after a mission where my local storage is overflow, or any other time, I can dispatch the excess to each of the corresponding bases. The ability to filter and show only items existing at the destination (from the pull down menu, for example), would come very handy.

I guess this may not be an issue for other mods, but for Piratez and its hundreds of different items, this would easy the pain a bit  :)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5388
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1685 on: September 07, 2018, 11:43:58 pm »
New OXCE+ version is up.

2018-09-07
 - Merged OXCE 4.0 (2018-08-24)
 - Merged latest OXC 1.0 (2018-09-06)

New OXC ruleset:
 - RuleSoldier: "value"
 - RuleUfo: "markerLand", "markerCrash"
 - RuleMissionScript: "targetBaseOdds" now works also for mission sites

New OXCE ruleset:
 - RuleSoldier: "requiresBuyBaseFunc"
 - RuleCraft: "requiresBuyBaseFunc"
 - RuleItem: "requiresBuyBaseFunc"
 - RuleItem: "confXXX"->"arcing"

EDIT: Download: https://lxnt.wtf/oxem/builds//ExtendedPlus/Extended-4.0-f2005ae8a-2018-09-15-win32.7z

This version needs testing, if you have time and courage, please help...
« Last Edit: September 16, 2018, 12:58:01 am by Meridian »

Offline LouisdeFuines

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 585
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1686 on: September 08, 2018, 01:31:25 am »
After having done the upgrade to V4.0, the order of all my research subjects has changed.
The decrypted discs, pillow books aren`t now anymore down the list, but more in the middle.

It is now a little bit confusing.

Researchable living people are now mixed with items in the research list.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2018, 01:35:02 am by LouisdeFuines »

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1246
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1687 on: September 08, 2018, 04:00:26 am »
I'm getting a problem in which upon starting a new game, I can immediately manufacture many things that I should not yet or never should be able to manufacture. I don't think this was happening until I installed 4.0, and I don't see anything in my mod that would be causing it.

Mods: my mod only


P.S.: Does 4.0 include the feature to make chryssalids have a chance to fail based on armor?
« Last Edit: September 08, 2018, 04:02:40 am by The Reaver of Darkness »

Offline Yankes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2139
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1688 on: September 08, 2018, 04:11:55 am »
P.S.: Does 4.0 include the feature to make chryssalids have a chance to fail based on armor?
fail doing what? zombify enemy? If yes then yes, script can alter success chance of zombification.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1246
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1689 on: September 08, 2018, 05:08:34 am »
fail doing what? zombify enemy? If yes then yes, script can alter success chance of zombification.
Excellent! How do I use it? I want to make armor suits cause the soldier to resist zombification just as they resist melee damage.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5388
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1690 on: September 08, 2018, 07:51:40 am »
I'm getting a problem in which upon starting a new game, I can immediately manufacture many things that I should not yet or never should be able to manufacture. I don't think this was happening until I installed 4.0, and I don't see anything in my mod that would be causing it.

The game now checks, if research topics exist on many places... and if not, either crashes on start or writes errors in the log file and skips non-existing research... please check the log file.

After having done the upgrade to V4.0, the order of all my research subjects has changed.
The decrypted discs, pillow books aren`t now anymore down the list, but more in the middle.

It is now a little bit confusing.

Researchable living people are now mixed with items in the research list.

Thanks.
Reported to Yankes.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2018, 08:32:52 am by Meridian »

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1246
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1691 on: September 08, 2018, 08:54:12 am »
The game now checks, if research topics exist on many places... and if not, either crashes on start or writes errors in the log file and skips non-existing research... please check the log file.
That explains it, but it causes major problems for my mod. I have a lot of items that require a research project that doesn't exist. If it did exist, you could access the items in random battles. Previously, the only way to lock items out of random battles was to assign them a research project that didn't exist. Now, there is no way to do it.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5388
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1692 on: September 08, 2018, 09:14:58 am »
That explains it, but it causes major problems for my mod. I have a lot of items that require a research project that doesn't exist. If it did exist, you could access the items in random battles. Previously, the only way to lock items out of random battles was to assign them a research project that didn't exist. Now, there is no way to do it.

By random battles you mean "New Battle" mode? There, you should have access to all items... by design.

Anyway, the correct way to protect research/manufacturing/items you don't want to give direct access to is to protect them by a dummy research that is unobtainable (e.g. by requiring item that cannot be obtained in the game).

Example from piratez:

Code: [Select]
research:
  - name: STR_UNAVAILABLE
    cost: 0
    needItem: true

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1246
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1693 on: September 08, 2018, 11:19:13 am »
Sure, I can do that but it doesn't work in new battle mode, because there it automatically researches everything. I can't see how many points the mission gives because none of the alien artifacts are counted for points once researched.

Speaking of which, is there an alternate way to bypass that? I want all alien artifacts to continue yielding points even if they have been researched.

Offline Yankes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2139
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1694 on: September 08, 2018, 05:01:25 pm »
I moved check for correct research because game waste lot of time to check every time if research exists. Another this was that you need run game and do lot of things to check if all your rules are correct and reference correctly each other.
Because of this I stared adding code that link all data after all mods are loaded, thanks to that game code is simpler and modder can start game only to verify if his mod is defined correctly.