Author Topic: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks  (Read 68233 times)

Offline yrizoud

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1024
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #105 on: April 15, 2014, 11:01:30 am »
Mr Quiet: The seed of a random number generator is the "first number", which determines all future numbers. If the skirmish screen could show this number and let you modify it, people could report "I generated map 12345 and I got this and this problem".

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9675
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #106 on: April 15, 2014, 02:23:38 pm »
Seconded!

This is the best way us non-coders can help with real work around here...

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2336
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #107 on: April 15, 2014, 04:25:31 pm »
got it, the deployment layouts for the avenger and lightning needed to account for the difference in height

Offline civilian

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #108 on: April 24, 2014, 12:13:55 pm »
Well, does that mean we will se a fix or a new working version?  ;D

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9675
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #109 on: April 24, 2014, 06:39:06 pm »
I tried a New Battle with the new terror mission terrain... It crashed, giving me the error: M range check (which normally happens when loftemps are not defined). Not sure why it wouldn't fork for me, while it works for others... Oh, and it was a Skyranger deployment.

Offline civilian

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #110 on: April 25, 2014, 11:44:25 am »
Cool, it works again for me with the latest (24.4.2014) git! I love those maps, it is so nice to explore an UNKNOWN terrain at night for a change.  ;)

edit: I merged all known (atm) terrain mods in one big file: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php?topic=2047.0
« Last Edit: April 26, 2014, 11:35:14 am by civilian »

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9675
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #111 on: April 26, 2014, 08:20:05 pm »
Great news!

Also, the mod works for me now, after the update.

Offline civilian

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #112 on: April 27, 2014, 01:03:06 pm »
Great news!

Also, the mod works for me now, after the update.

Good to hear that!  :) Interestingly when i tried to add the ruleset directly to the main Xcom1 ruleset, the game started to have those "mapsize too big" errors again, not sure why, but there you have it. Works flawlessly as a custom ruleset, though.

Update: It seems the newest OpenXcom version no longer works with this mod (or vice versa)
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 11:01:54 am by civilian »

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #113 on: May 19, 2014, 10:35:16 pm »
In order to have both mission available (original Terror and this new version), will it work if I replace in attached ruleset
Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_TERROR_MISSION
    height: 10
    terrains:
      - URBAN2
with
Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_TERROR_MISSION2
    height: 10
    terrains:
      - URBAN2
?

Offline civilian

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #114 on: May 20, 2014, 11:53:47 am »
No. The maps themselves are the problem, no ruleset can change that, sry.  :-\

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2336
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #115 on: May 20, 2014, 12:13:09 pm »
to get them BOTH active, simply use the following:
Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_TERROR_MISSION
    height: 10
    terrains:
      - URBAN
      - URBAN2

and it will randomly select one or the other.

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #116 on: May 20, 2014, 02:17:09 pm »
Excellent !! :)

1) I should have first asked : is there any interest to do so ?
In other words, does this mod only add features, or does it replace some of them ?

2) Another question : why a height of 10 ?
Given that 2 levels are reserved for "underworld", does it means some features will be of 5,6 or 7 floors ?

3) Finally, not directly linked with Terror mod :

3a) Are there any constraints regarding map size specification ?

I guess this will not work
Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_SMALL_SCOUT
    width: 15
    length: 25
    height: 4

Constraints like :
- multiple of 20 ?
- at minimum 20 ?
- at maximum 200 ?
- ...

3b) Is there any possibility to make map size varying ?

Idea would be to randomize map size, as for example, having possibility to sometimes have

Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_SMALL_SCOUT
    width: 20
    length: 40
    height: 4

and othertimes
Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_SMALL_SCOUT
    width: 40
    length: 40
    height: 4

« Last Edit: May 21, 2014, 03:52:00 am by Aldorn »

Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 630
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #117 on: May 21, 2014, 06:36:00 pm »
No. The maps themselves are the problem, no ruleset can change that, sry.  :-\

Today I compiled source code succesfully :)

Do you have a savegame that reproduce the problem ?
 
I could try to debug the issues, 8)
 sometimes it could be identify some problems and allow to fix them ... :P

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2336
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #118 on: May 26, 2014, 09:21:00 am »
2) Another question : why a height of 10 ?
Given that 2 levels are reserved for "underworld", does it means some features will be of 5,6 or 7 floors ?

because in luke's terror set,there is a hotel that is 10 tall, unless the map height is set to match, it causes a crash.

3) Finally, not directly linked with Terror mod :

3a) Are there any constraints regarding map size specification ?

yes, maps MUST BE at least big enough to fit the ufo and the landing craft, and  a multiple of 10.

Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 630
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] New Terror Mission Map Blocks
« Reply #119 on: June 03, 2014, 12:39:00 pm »
In the basements you could insert a metro/subway and the sewer ;)