Author Topic: Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool  (Read 1120954 times)

Offline legionof1

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1461
  • Bullets go that way. Money comes this way.
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7335 on: November 07, 2019, 06:27:13 am »
HK isn't that far down the tree from the STC pack, if fact all of 2 techs on the shadowmaster branch separate them. The real delay is that the HK is post workshop, and the STC pack isn't. However, if you went workshop instead of 3 extractors to unlock the space to build the drill your already there.

It's not anywhere near the super optimal required for JS difficulty to go workshop first, but it's pretty commonly done. And in that case the hawk is a pretty expensive outlay.

Offline Martin

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 439
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7336 on: November 07, 2019, 09:28:24 am »
UNless JS has been made much more difficult recently, I never had any issue going workshop first.

Offline Eddie

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7337 on: November 07, 2019, 04:30:24 pm »
The Hawk is a lategame god tier interceptor. The damage output of a Gat Lascannon is insane with the +20% accuracy boost. If you have some shadow orbs to put in your STC slots you will get shields. If you have spacial displacers it becomes invulnerable.
The Hawk is also a decent troop transport because it has doors. No problematic windows I think, but I haven't used it much lately.

The menace class ships have one main flaw: no doors. As such, they are not the best troop transports anyway. The Fuego is the best menace class interceptor because of the speed, so I would say it is the most useful of all the menace ships.

The thing with the layout is, you have to play some missions to really get the advantages and disadvantages. Also, know how to redecorate. When using the turtle, at the start of every mission I smash the pillows (high tu colored floor tiles) with a crowbar. In the shadowbat I demolish the beds to get more space close to the ladders.

Offline LytaRyta

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • Lisbeth ;p My Engrish is easy bad, Csaba is dead!
    • View Profile
    • svetmightandmagic.cz
Re: Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7338 on: November 07, 2019, 07:26:06 pm »
..so, let totaly clean the Earth, from various scum from (not only) outer space,
and let make settle the order,
and tide the garbage off

Offline Thatguysenpai

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7339 on: November 07, 2019, 11:46:45 pm »
Is it possible we could get more ways to obtain an industrial scanner? In my latest campaign I am hardlocked on tech because I never found one and I haven't seen science vessels for several months. Possibly at some point we can just buy them? Thanks for the hard work.

Offline BBHood217

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7340 on: November 08, 2019, 12:23:31 am »
You can eventually make your own scanners, but I think that's some pretty late tech and requires knowing about the scanner in the first place.  The only thing you can do is keep bothering cutters and hope one of them has a layout with exam rooms/scanners.  The envoy (formerly abductor) has guaranteed scanners, but they're flown only by ethereals.

Offline legionof1

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1461
  • Bullets go that way. Money comes this way.
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7341 on: November 08, 2019, 12:26:43 am »
Another for sure source is a full clear of doctor x hideout. I think the gnome lair and reticualn vats have em too.

Offline MemoryTAS

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7342 on: November 08, 2019, 01:17:07 am »
Bases also seem to have scanners in abundance but it's always a risky proposition to tackle one

Offline Cristao

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7343 on: November 10, 2019, 08:15:46 am »
I recall being able to change the base layout in-game (i.e. aside from the custom initial base layout). Has that option being removed or is there a new way of doing it?

Offline Gremlion

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7344 on: November 10, 2019, 08:21:48 am »
It was removed, you can manually edit building coordinates in the savegame

Offline Cristao

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7345 on: November 10, 2019, 03:29:30 pm »
Any way to easily do that or add it back?

Offline Rince Wind

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7346 on: November 10, 2019, 06:26:06 pm »
It is gone from the game, not just the mod.

Offline Cristao

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7347 on: November 11, 2019, 09:11:04 am »
It is gone from the game, not just the mod.

EGAD!!  :o :o :o What happened!!

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8929
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7348 on: November 11, 2019, 05:02:01 pm »

Offline Dioxine

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5244
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: [MAIN] XPiratez - K2 - 2 Nov - Ice Ice Cool
« Reply #7349 on: November 13, 2019, 10:21:23 pm »
Meridian added this option as quality of life (mostly with his Let's Play in mind), but seeing how people abuse it, he removed it. I never liked the option, so I fully agree with that decision.
If you want to still use that sort of cheat, you have to edit your save.