Author Topic: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question  (Read 5298 times)

Offline shadics

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
[WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« on: March 23, 2015, 05:46:48 am »
I was thinking, would be, a way, to improve tecnology automatically, without creating a new item?

I mean, keep using the same item (armor, or weapon) but better, using the scientist research.?

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2333
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 11:45:08 am »
not as such, no, but you could make a separate manufacturing definition for the upgraded armor to allow you to "trade in" your old ones for the new stuff, at a much lower cost and amount of time than making a fresh suit from raw materials. you could also make it almost instantaneous and completely free, but it would still require you to do it manually.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2015, 11:48:10 am by Warboy1982 »

Offline Arthanor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2488
  • XCom Armoury Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2015, 03:07:38 pm »
Discovering new ammo for weapons (alien alloy ammo for firearms, better power packs for lasers, etc.) can sort of achieve that too, but it all goes through manufacturing. Otherwise, how would and item change?

Offline shadics

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2015, 01:06:02 am »
 :) oh, well. thanks for taking the time to replying
i guess i'll use that

Offline shadics

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2015, 07:26:06 pm »
i dont know why but one of my armors dont work
just crash with ''vector::M_range_check:: on base defend map
:/ what im doing bad?
this is the ruleset

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2333
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2015, 08:26:24 pm »
using the nightly from the 4th? there was a bug in that

Offline shadics

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2015, 04:18:02 pm »
using the nightly from the 4th? there was a bug in that
yes, but i find my silly problem
i miss this section ''loftempsSet: [ 3 ]''  :-[ my bad

Offline shadics

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2015, 03:19:43 am »
another question
is it possible put a limit to the item manufacturation?

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5437
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2015, 03:21:45 am »
What kind of a limit?

Offline shadics

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2015, 04:16:29 am »
for example just build one armor, not more of one

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5437
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: [WEAPON][ARMOR] Question
« Reply #10 on: April 08, 2015, 05:10:57 am »
Well, I assume "a single UNIQUE item in the entire game"? If so, there is no good way of doing this, except maybe putting an unique item in the starting base inventory (OR starting transfers: "your ultracool item is scheduled to arrive at your starting base in 300 days!), an item that's needed for such manufacture and cannot be acquired in any way.