aliens

Author Topic: Medikit-type item without the medikit screen?  (Read 4959 times)

Offline ISemiI

• Squaddie
  • [HIDDEN MOVEMENT INTENSIFIES]
    • View Profile
Medikit-type item without the medikit screen?
« on: May 28, 2015, 12:19:49 am »
First off, hey guys ^^. Long(ish) time lurker, first time poster.

I'm working on a small mod that adds a basic "field dressing" bandage for the treatment of a single fatal wound, with the intention being that it's much lighter than a standard medikit but without nearly as much healing power - purely for stabilisation purposes to stop a wounded agent bleeding out before a properly equipped medic can attend to them. As you probably guessed from the title, I'm wondering if I'd be able to do away with the medikit interface and simply have the use of the item heal the wound - I'm brand new to modding OpenXCom and I'm still not sure of what is possible and what isn't.

Additionally, the game crashes every time I attempt to throw or drop one - for the time being I'm using the pistol magazine's sprite as a substitute for testing, but I'd like to figure out what's going on. I'm assuming it's something to do with the floorob ID, a conflict or something, since I can see no problems with the image itself or the path to the image within the ruleset file. If that is indeed the problem, which floorob IDs are available for use? I've tried a wide range and come up with a crash each time.

Offline Arthanor

• Commander
  • XCom Armoury Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Medikit-type item without the medikit screen?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2015, 12:51:23 am »
I think there are 73 floorobs defined in the game, so IDs 0-72 are already used, unless you are actually trying to replace something. And it is not good to go over 999. Anything else is up for grabs (and mods won't conflict as they get their own 1000 each).