aliens

Author Topic: What slang do you use to refer to the aliens?  (Read 5686 times)

Offline igtc

• Squaddie
  • Ultima Dragon
    • View Profile
What slang do you use to refer to the aliens?
« on: February 27, 2015, 02:51:14 am »
When I started playing Xcom back in the 90s, I realised I was always referring to the aliens as "bugs"; as in "Nailed 6 bugs so far." or "Where did that f'ing bug go?".

After playing Open Xcom, I realised I'm still doing it. This got me thinking about whether other players (or their respective soldiers) might have a particular slang word or words they use to refer to the alien hordes attacking Earth.

So how about it? What slang do you use to refer to the aliens? For me, everything is a "bug" (although I have caught myself referring to the Mutons as "Mutties" every so often).

Cheers,
IGTC

Offline ivandogovich

• Commander
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: What slang do you use to refer to the aliens?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2015, 03:56:25 am »
X-rays is a classic as well as ET.   I do use bugs too, esp for sectoids or Chryssalids.  Chryssies comes out, muties too sometimes.
Discs, & Frisbees obvious for CyberDisks.  Beasties for Reepers.  Green Meanies sometimes for Mutons.

(Tftd:  Gillies: Gillmen, "Swamp Thing": Deep One, Shellbacks: Lobstermen, Lizardmen/iguanas: Tasoths, and of course Flying Brains for Tentaculats.)

More generally, enemy, adversary, foe, hostiles, etc.

Doing an LP made me want to develop a decent lexicon, to avoid repeating myself... though, now that I think about it... it was more doing writing that made me conciously think about it.  Combat Diaries for Marbozir's Long War LP, and then the Soldiers of Earth Roleplay made me really think about not using the same term multiple times in a row.

Cheers, Ivan :D

Offline Hobbes

• Commander
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2015, 04:06:28 am »
Chryssies