aliens

Author Topic: another idea - radar range on geoscape  (Read 70615 times)

Offline moriarty

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1423
    • View Profile
    • Luke's OX mod site
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #165 on: October 11, 2012, 05:53:23 pm »
I guess that's what we'll be doing - once we have shading :P

all we have right now is limited color palettes, and some tricksy things to make brightness shifts that look like shading but aren't. :)

Offline Startling

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #166 on: October 11, 2012, 05:57:03 pm »
Great :D Well, the circles look actually best from the currently implemented methods. Having a button to disable them would make it perfect.

I am happy to do correct math for the geoscape btw, if you need any more of the correct traj. planning (no weird spiral bug that was in the original) or even hex-based geoscape :D (I think it is already hex based?)

Offline moriarty

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1423
    • View Profile
    • Luke's OX mod site
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #167 on: October 11, 2012, 06:17:22 pm »
I'm not one of the programmers, but I think the trajectories are already optimized. at least, they appear to be more 3D-shortest-distance than the original :)

hex-based geoscape? I don't think there is any kind of tiling involved, everything is truly 3D-coordinate based. or am I not getting what you are trying to say?  ???

Offline Startling

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #168 on: October 11, 2012, 06:19:50 pm »


Is what I meant :)

Offline moriarty

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1423
    • View Profile
    • Luke's OX mod site
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #169 on: October 11, 2012, 06:28:02 pm »
funny you should mention this... I ran across that program some time ago, and thought it would be a really nice basis for a "Master of Magic"-remake. but I don't really see where xcom would profit from a tile-based geoscape.

Offline Startling

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #170 on: October 11, 2012, 06:38:08 pm »
Not so much as to hex-based landscape, but more for the purposes of the tris visualisation. The original xcom had quite low poly and heavily triangulated meshes, with better quality closer to poles (i.e. usual sin/cos vertex distribution). But I am heavily derailing the topic right now, so I should stop :)

Offline moriarty

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1423
    • View Profile
    • Luke's OX mod site
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #171 on: October 11, 2012, 06:42:20 pm »
:)

take a look at this thread: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,543.0.html

originating from this thread: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,530.0.html


for now, we are bound by the original data structure, but we can increase the poly count due to having more computing power than "back in the days". I guess completely re-working the geoscape engine and data would be possible, though... in the future :) (for now we are happy it's working as it is)

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2514
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #172 on: October 13, 2012, 04:54:27 pm »
This hex planet isnt hex, more accurate name is football planet or Fullerene planet.

And about Plan position indicator (aka green radar display with fading dots) it will be hard to made and slow to draw, at lest using my globe shading.
I dont see any other solution to made it work, trying draw them directly (drawing polygons or multiple line) will be even harder to do and lot of slower than my solution (only way to made it work is draw one circle and one line, but this will not have any "fading").

Volutar

  • Guest
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #173 on: October 15, 2012, 09:01:31 pm »
This scanning line will be useless and actually confusing, just because in [open]xcom globe objects being discovered each 30 minutes (at the same time on whole globe), not with those "sweeps". So they will mislead this process.
Or, you got to rewrite whole detection algorithm, to make those line work not only visually. And that will be quite a hard task. And quite meaningless. I.e. it doesn't worth it.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2012, 09:03:06 pm by Volutar »

Offline Francois424

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #174 on: October 18, 2012, 09:30:58 pm »
If this idea is implemented, I'd like for it to be optionnal thru some option.
I like knowing the range of my radars but after a few minutes it's going to become annoying, heh.

Good work guys.

Volutar

  • Guest
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #175 on: February 01, 2013, 10:15:29 pm »
Officially in git.
Toggled with details (tab).

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2514
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #176 on: February 02, 2013, 01:50:00 am »
look great :)

Offline kkmic

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 586
  • Undefined
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #177 on: February 02, 2013, 05:26:40 pm »
Great job volutar!

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #178 on: February 03, 2013, 12:46:30 am »
@Volutar which github?

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2338
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: another idea - radar range on geoscape
« Reply #179 on: February 03, 2013, 04:17:00 am »