Author Topic: Anyone spare a minute to help me out - Adjust terror mission geoscape timer?  (Read 4632 times)

Offline sniggles

• Squaddie
    • View Profile
Hi guys, i was hoping i could easily adjust the terror mission timer using a ruleset.

To be clearer - i want to double the time a terror mission remains on the Geoscape before you have to engage.

I am not that good at tactical battles and hate trying these missions at night.

Don't want to 'turn on' all battles in daylight option as i enioy the odd UFO encounters at night for an extra challenge (and at my own pace)

Just my personal pet hate - want to be able to have enough time to advance to daylight to do a terror mission if i want.

Is there an easy way to lengthen the time or is it hardcoded.

Appreciate any help or advice.

Online Meridian

• Global Moderator
  • Commander
    • View Profile
It should be possible to change the ruleset... you'll have to play with ufoTrajectories (property groundTimer), but I didn't try it yet, so I can't say for sure.

Anyway, there is a much easier way... just have the terror mission targeted with some secondary craft until it becomes day (or whenever you feel you need to take off with your primary craft)... it won't disappear.

To see what I am talking about, you can check this example: https://youtu.be/zzMIiYTUMzU?t=11m58s
« Last Edit: November 02, 2014, 08:51:21 pm by Meridian »

Offline sniggles

• Squaddie
    • View Profile
Thanks for the quick reply Meridian.

Yeagh - I know about the tactic with targeting the terror site to keep it 'active' and this is what i have been doing and is not too much trouble but feels like a gimmicky game mechanic and kinda breaks the immersion a bit.

Looked at those references you mentioned in the main game ruleset (Xcom1Ruleset.rul) - ufo trajectory ground timers.

There are nine reference id's from PO to P9 with only the last one named as a 'RETALIATION_ASSAULT_RUN'