aliens

Author Topic: Problems with new complex ruleset [WIP]  (Read 3890 times)

Offline KingMob4313

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Never let me down again.
    • View Profile
    • Mod Hub for Equal Terms 2.0
Problems with new complex ruleset [WIP]
« on: August 29, 2014, 06:17:00 am »
Okay, I'm just running through some of the more complicated portions of my ruleset, and now I need to capture an engineer.

Anyone have a bit of copy pasta for my save file that can put that in there?  I've already used save file editing to fake prerequisites for things, but going through the mess of capturing just for testing sucks.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2014, 05:05:40 am by KingMob4313 »

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5412
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: Need some help with Save files for testing.
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2014, 09:00:47 am »
1. Find "items" section (there are several, find the one that lists all the stuff stored at your relevant base)

2. Add line(s) for the kept aliens, like:
Code: [Select]
      STR_SECTOID_CORPSE: 12
      STR_SECTOID_ENGINEER: 1
      STR_SECTOID_LEADER: 2
      STR_SECTOID_MEDIC: 2

Offline KingMob4313

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Never let me down again.
    • View Profile
    • Mod Hub for Equal Terms 2.0
Re: Need some help with Save files for testing.
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2014, 04:40:54 pm »
1. Find "items" section (there are several, find the one that lists all the stuff stored at your relevant base)

2. Add line(s) for the kept aliens, like:
Code: [Select]
      STR_SECTOID_CORPSE: 12
      STR_SECTOID_ENGINEER: 1
      STR_SECTOID_LEADER: 2
      STR_SECTOID_MEDIC: 2

Perfect!

I actually didn't have any save games left where I had some captured aliens.  This will help my testing immensely.

Offline KingMob4313

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Never let me down again.
    • View Profile
    • Mod Hub for Equal Terms 2.0
Re: Problems with new complex ruleset [WIP]
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2014, 05:12:09 am »
Okay, new problem has appeared: I am getting a crash when manufacturing produces an item and I am a little baffled as to why?

The item looks good
Code: [Select]
  # New Human Weapons
  - type: STR_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL
    listOrder: 5450
    size: 0.1
    costSell: 56000
    battleType: 1
    bigSprite: 963 #
    floorSprite: 966
    handSprite: 971 # ALL GOOD
    bulletSprite: 8
    weight: 3
    requires:
      - STR_REMAN_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL
    compatibleAmmo:
      - STR_PLASMA_PISTOL_CLIP
    fireSound: 11 # FIX THIS
    accuracyAuto: 38 # 50
    accuracySnap: 55 # 65
    accuracyAimed: 75 # 85
    tuAuto: 33 # 30
    tuSnap: 20 # 30
    tuAimed: 40 # 60
    maxRange: 100 # 0
    aimRange: 30 # 0
    snapRange: 8 # 0
    autoRange: 8 # 0
    dropoff: 3 # 0
    invWidth: 1
    invHeight: 2
  - type: STR_HUMAN_PLASMA_MAGNUM
    listOrder: 5470
    size: 0.2
    costSell: 80000 #
    weight: 5
    battleType: 1
    compatibleAmmo:
      - STR_PLASMA_MAGNUM_CLIP
    bigSprite: 763
    floorSprite: 765
    handSprite: 770  # ALL GOOD
    bulletSprite: 8
    fireSound: 11 # FIX THIS
    accuracySnap: 60
    accuracyAimed: 80
    tuSnap: 25
    tuAimed: 40
    maxRange: 125 # 0
    aimRange: 42 # 0
    snapRange: 10 # 0
    minRange: 1
    dropoff: 2 # 0
    invWidth: 1
    invHeight: 2

Same with the research code:
Code: [Select]
  - name: STR_REMAN_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL
    cost: 400
    points: 10
    dependencies:
      - STR_ALIEN_WEAPONS
      - STR_PLASMA_PISTOL
      - STR_ALLOY_MANUFACTURING

And the manufacturing:
Code: [Select]
  - name: STR_REMAN_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL
    category: STR_WEAPON
    requires:
      - STR_REMAN_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL
    space: 5
    time: 40
    cost: 4000
    requiredItems: STR_PLASMA_PISTOL
    producedItems: STR_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL

Anyone encounter this before?

Offline KingMob4313

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Never let me down again.
    • View Profile
    • Mod Hub for Equal Terms 2.0
Re: Problems with new complex ruleset [WIP]
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2014, 05:15:42 am »
Even weirder, it's crashing at

Code: [Select]
int RuleSoldier::getFloatHeight() const
{
return _floatHeight;
}

Where a value is being set.

Offline KingMob4313

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Never let me down again.
    • View Profile
    • Mod Hub for Equal Terms 2.0
Re: Problems with new complex ruleset [WIP]
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2014, 05:53:44 am »
Okay, fixed a few things in the manufacturing yaml

Code: [Select]
  - name: STR_REMAN_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL
    category: STR_WEAPON
    requires:
      - STR_REMAN_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL
    space: 5
    time: 40
    cost: 4000
    requiredItems:
      STR_PLASMA_PISTOL: 1
    producedItems:
      STR_HUMAN_PLASMA_PISTOL: 1

And it's still crashing.

Offline KingMob4313

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Never let me down again.
    • View Profile
    • Mod Hub for Equal Terms 2.0
Re: Problems with new complex ruleset [WIP]
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2014, 06:05:57 am »
Okay, getting things down...

Will the game crash if you manufacture something you don't have all the prereqs to actually use?

Offline KingMob4313

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 543
  • Never let me down again.
    • View Profile
    • Mod Hub for Equal Terms 2.0
Re: Problems with new complex ruleset [WIP]
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2014, 06:30:15 am »
Okay, seems to be an issue with my linkage between research and manufacturing. Disregard.