Author Topic: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.  (Read 4913 times)

Offline Sturm

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« on: July 26, 2014, 10:03:27 pm »
What should I do to not lose the game?

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2108
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2014, 10:25:35 pm »
What do you mean?

Offline Sturm

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2108
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2014, 10:59:09 pm »
If you really managed to go over 2billion, you can just open the savegame in a text editor and edit your last "funds:" amount.

Offline 34s cell

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2014, 11:40:18 am »
Is there any particular reason for this limit?

Offline kkmic

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 587
  • Undefined
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2014, 03:35:50 pm »
Memory allocation. And the space needed to display the funds in the interface.

It should not be hard to increase the memory allocation, but I'd rather put a hard limit on how much the X-Com treasury can hold.

Something like 2 billion :D



How can one amass two billion bucks on this game? I believe I've managed to hit several tens of millions in TFTD, but by then I was tired of Tentaculats and ready to take on T'Leth. Which I promptly did :P

Offline Sturm

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2014, 05:41:45 pm »
Memory allocation. And the space needed to display the funds in the interface.

It should not be hard to increase the memory allocation, but I'd rather put a hard limit on how much the X-Com treasury can hold.

Something like 2 billion :D



How can one amass two billion bucks on this game? I believe I've managed to hit several tens of millions in TFTD, but by then I was tired of Tentaculats and ready to take on T'Leth. Which I promptly did :P
I play with more realistic prices - that is going up to 150 mln $ for an Interceptor and funding adjusted accordingly.

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2014, 06:00:15 pm »
I play with more realistic prices - that is going up to 150 mln $ for an Interceptor and funding adjusted accordingly.
You should perhaps decrease selling prices also, as I am not sure commodities produced by XCom have a lot of "buyers" on earth...

Offline Sturm

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2014, 06:47:53 pm »
You should perhaps decrease selling prices also, as I am not sure commodities produced by XCom have a lot of "buyers" on earth...
Why?

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2014, 06:54:27 pm »
Forget it...

Offline Qpoter

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 114
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2014, 02:29:24 am »
I kind of think it would be cool to have realistic prices, but it's not really necessary at this point. I actually tried this exact same thing once and got this bug, then I got tired and quit trying to make it work cause, well, I just thought it was pointless.

Offline kkmic

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 587
  • Undefined
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2014, 09:23:54 am »
Make an enhancement request for this, in the bug tracker. Argument it. I'm sure SupSuper will do it if it's worth it.

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #12 on: July 30, 2014, 11:20:03 am »
using "real price"/1000 or "real price"/100$ as buy/sell/production value is not conceivable?
whats the cheapest thing? the clip for a pistol?
does it really matter if you pay 5$ or 100$ per pistol clip if your interceptor costs millions?

Offline 34s cell

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2014, 02:40:27 pm »
It's just a question of how difficult it is (or how likely it is to cause other bugs) to at least up the limit to maybe 9.9 billion and make it stop rather than rollover to -9.9 billion.

If its too much effort that's fine, but dividing by 100 just doesn't look as good and it is a bit of a pain.

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #14 on: July 30, 2014, 05:44:47 pm »
It's just a question of how difficult it is (or how likely it is to cause other bugs) to at least up the limit to maybe 9.9 billion and make it stop rather than rollover to -9.9 billion.

If its too much effort that's fine, but dividing by 100 just doesn't look as good and it is a bit of a pain.
Do you have ever any idea of time and efforts spent by dev team to provide this remake, with all possibilities it offers...
Feel free to ask for any request, but when dev team says no, I'm not sure insisting more and more is a great reward to their efforts...
Have a look at all other possibilities, and I'm sure your frustration could be lowered  :)