Author Topic: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.  (Read 12051 times)

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11464
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #15 on: July 30, 2014, 05:56:52 pm »
Well, if a mod is causing an issue, it is the modder's problem.

Sure, we can ask the devs to unlock something, but if they said no and valid arguments were presented, there's not much we can do...

Well, actually there's one thing: learn to code, make your own branch, then present it to the devs as a proposed solution. That's the only way that seems to be valid.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2014, 07:11:24 pm by Solarius Scorch »

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #16 on: July 30, 2014, 06:14:54 pm »
if you increase the bitsize of funding you also should increase the bitsize of all prices
manufacture/sell/buy/maintenance/rent/wages/funding/.. also since these numbers now can be bigger you shlould check that there is enough space in all screens where a price/funding related information is visible (seel/buy/manufacture/graph/mainscreen/funding/..)
check all "money"-functions for correct casting of types

i assume the change in bitsize for funding alone/itself is no big deal but the other stuff makes 99% of the work

Online Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3209
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #17 on: July 30, 2014, 10:01:01 pm »
I think only variables that store funding need be change to `long long`. Rest can stay same because C++ easy handle adding different types of `int` variables. Only UI change that is need is internal only. Right now number fields store value in normal `int` this should be expand to `long long`.

Offline 34s cell

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #18 on: July 30, 2014, 11:15:09 pm »
if you increase the bitsize of funding you also should increase the bitsize of all prices
manufacture/sell/buy/maintenance/rent/wages/funding/

Could you explain this?

Quote
you shlould check that there is enough space in all screens where a price/funding related information is visible (seel/buy/manufacture/graph/mainscreen/funding/..)

On closer inspection UI changes might not be necessary since you could probably still see the amount in the base menu(since it only extends to the right). Also, even if it is obscured by the UI, how is that worse than the money rolling over?

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #19 on: July 30, 2014, 11:19:17 pm »
Could you explain this?
No i wasted enough time in this thread already

Offline Sturm

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #20 on: August 02, 2014, 02:54:05 am »
Well, if a mod is causing an issue, it is the modder's problem.
It's not an issue caused by a mod. It's a known bug from vanilla version that was discovered long before modding. Even if there is to be a hard limit on how much cash, it shouldn't be possible to cross it and roll-over into minus.

Well, actually there's one thing: learn to code, make your own branch, then present it to the devs as a proposed solution. That's the only way that seems to be valid.
I remember seeing claims  that every single bug from the list I linked was fixed in 1.0. Learn to code and propose a solution? That's how many years to fix one bug?

using "real price"/1000 or "real price"/100$ as buy/sell/production value is not conceivable?
whats the cheapest thing? the clip for a pistol?
does it really matter if you pay 5$ or 100$ per pistol clip if your interceptor costs millions?
I'm using "real price"/10 now. It's ugly. And the game-breaking bug still stays. The bug is listed in wiki, so obviously other people have reached that limit before in vanilla game.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11464
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2014, 02:59:31 am »
It's not an issue caused by a mod. It's a known bug from vanilla version that was discovered long before modding. Even if there is to be a hard limit on how much cash, it shouldn't be possible to cross it and roll-over into minus.

I only meant that it probably wouldn't happen on an unmodded game, so it's a modding issue to me. At least I can't imagine having that much money, but well, I could be wrong.

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #22 on: August 02, 2014, 03:03:23 am »
i had other games that "fixed" the issue in a way that they set the funding to 999999999 and you could not earn more each day or some such it was reset
but this also lead to many outcries of "WHYYY!!! you rob us!"
you never get it right for everyone

such a solution would be easy to do don know if its liked .. and it would not help if you sell stuff for 1500000000 in one swoop

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #23 on: August 02, 2014, 03:06:37 am »
I'm using "real price"/10 now. It's ugly.
It's nice ! Taking inflation into account, you should be not far away from prices in 1999  8)

Offline redv

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 335
    • View Profile
Re: Cash Rollover Bug is still there.
« Reply #24 on: August 02, 2014, 12:43:28 pm »
It's nice ! Taking inflation into account, you should be not far away from prices in 1999  8)

Especially spaceship Avenger for 80000$ per unit ;)