Author Topic: Quick Armour Selection  (Read 5588 times)

Offline Recruit69

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Quick Armour Selection
« on: July 21, 2014, 12:04:58 am »
It can be a hindrance, individually selecting each soldier to equip one type of armour.

Could there be an option where if all soliders are to have one type of armour (providing there's sufficient armour equipment in storage), have a button that automatically equips all soldiers currently assigned to a craft to wear that one kind of armour automatically?

Or, make it act like assigning soldiers to craft in this way where you click on a soldier automatically assigns it to a craft, but in this case - armour:-

New button (or of some sort) - toggle or choose which armour to use
Then individually sleect the soldiers you want to wear with that kind of armour you pre-selected?
If this makes sense!

So overall, less clicks (and less chance of repetitive strain injury  :P )

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11384
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
    • Email
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 12:18:00 am »
+1 :)

Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2014, 05:47:27 pm »
+2 ;)

Offline Mr. Quiet

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
  • Likes: Quiet things. Dislikes: Loud things.
    • View Profile
    • =Open_X_Com= Mods
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 09:34:03 pm »
Yeah I'd love something to be done with the armor screen! Let's put our minds together and come up with the best solution before making the changes.

Highlight the operatives you want or in a check-mark on the right side, then click urban kevlar and everyone check-marked/highlighted get urban armor.

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2014, 09:58:01 pm »
idea:
if you select an armour via window the game "remembers" the last selected one
if you RIGHT-click on the armour later in the list and there is the armour item in storage it assignes the last selected armour

Offline Recruit69

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2014, 12:10:07 am »
Depends how much work there is to do to code it into the OpenXcom then?

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2014, 03:00:29 am »
its 30 lines distributed over 4-6 files
works like a charm :)
i am not sure whats better if no armor-items are in storage switch to STR_NONE or do nothing with a right click

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11384
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
    • Email
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2014, 11:31:42 pm »
its 30 lines distributed over 4-6 files
works like a charm :)
i am not sure whats better if no armor-items are in storage switch to STR_NONE or do nothing with a right click

Do nothing, if you ask me.

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2014, 07:00:51 pm »
FYI: its now in the nightly
now oxc allows a quick armour selection via right click
if one selects a armour in the soldier-armour-window the game "remembers" the choice
after that a rightclick in the craft armour window replaces the armour of the soldier
default armour (after game start/load) is STR_NONE_UC
if there are no further armor items available the quickselection does nothing

Offline Recruit69

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2014, 07:14:42 pm »
Wahey!

niculinux

  • Guest
Re: Quick Armour Selection
« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2014, 10:03:57 pm »
Depends how much work there is to do to code it into the OpenXcom then?

Sure but +1 if possible :)