aliens

Author Topic: My First Mod: well modding a mod...  (Read 3748 times)

Offline Jstank

• Colonel
  • 100% Un-Professional XCOM Lets Player
    • View Profile
    • FINAL MOD PACK LP OUT SOON NOW RECRUITING! SIGN UP TODAY!
My First Mod: well modding a mod...
« on: June 07, 2014, 01:46:49 am »
I was browsing through the mods that I had running. Specifically the combat armor mod, rail gun mod, the gauss rifle mod, and the thunderstorm mod. I made a few minor tweaks so that it makes them a little more useful.

I am not a programer but I was able to do some useful and interesting things.

First Tweak.

Combat armor mod:

items:
    costBuy: 10000 * Now doesn't cost an arm and a leg
    costSell: 5000

Second tweak: Standardization of Gauss and Mass Accelerator AMMO.

- STR_GAUSS_SNIPER_RIFLE
        compatibleAmmo:
      - STR_GAUSS_RIFLE_CLIP  * because crafting 8 bagillion types of ammo at the beginning of the game is a pain in the ass and takes way too long making gauss tech kind of too much of a pain in the beginning of the game to bother with. Therefore I went through and standardized all the gauss ammo except for the craft weapon heavy weapons and explosive weapons obviously. I did the same for Mass accelerator tech.

THUNDERRANGER

I then got creative and created the Thunder ranger. I used the Thunderstorm mod things and
 - type: STR_THUNDERSTORM
weapons: 2
Then I went into the UFO fighter transport extender file and did this...
STR_THUNDERSTORM (CHANGED FROM STR_INTERCEPTOR)
    soldiers: 10
    vehicles: 1
    battlescapeTerrainData:
      name: AVENGER
      mapDataSets:
        - BLANKS
        - AVENGER
      mapBlocks:
        - name: AVENGER
          width: 10
          length: 20

So now my thunderstorm will appear as an avenger on the battle field but it only can equip 10 soldiers so the avenger is still way better and the skyranger can still hold 14. (though it does looks rather silly sitting there with all that extra room. LOL