aliens

Author Topic: resolution problems  (Read 6710 times)

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
resolution problems
« on: May 17, 2014, 04:53:34 am »
i think this:
in 1.5 or 2x mode at battlescape the message screens must be at full screen.

Contrary to what you see here


My resolution is 1360x768

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2014, 05:46:37 am »
then i finished the game and...

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2014, 12:56:14 pm »
undeveloped experimental feature is undeveloped and experimental.

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2014, 02:21:01 pm »
hum! you're right.
Sory

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2014, 03:04:37 pm »
no, it's fine, just... you know, don't expect perfection from an experimental feature, we'll move to support this more post 1.0, but we're not expecting this feature to work flawlessly at this stage. these little issues are now fixed, but scaling SOME things to full screen and others not... well, it's a lot more work than i'm willing to commit to at this stage.

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2014, 04:03:23 pm »
yea, its just an idea, one expects homogeneity in games you know, if options menu its full screen at the beginning of the game it should be the same in every place of the game.
im not a programmer i can not understand how many work that can take.
i only can cross fingers  :P

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2171
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2014, 07:00:58 pm »
Having the screen change scale everytime between turns and inventory screens would be really jarring though.

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2014, 07:40:32 pm »
Is there not the possibility that the menu or middle and inventory screens, fill the screen no matter the resolution?

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2014, 01:56:19 am »
it's possible, sure, but it means going through and making adjustments to a LOT of screens, and will inevitably lead to problems and inconsistencies that i'd rather not introduce before the next release (as you can tell, there are already a few) i've tried to tidy up the ones that you've pointed out, for example, the cydonia briefing will block out the background, the end screens will always display in as full a screen as possible (like the intro) and the main menu will revert to the geoscape scale.

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2014, 02:37:20 am »
is great, the effort that you put in to meet the little quirks!
thx.
Those litle adjustments you mentioned, are more than enough for now.
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2014, 02:59:58 am »
at the build:
- built 2014-05-25 07:04

Quote
Warboy, Sun May 25 09:01:00 2014
switch scale for inventory/minimap/etc

make em full screen

you make me very happy making those screens at full screen!
but then at the last built those screens are small again :((((

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2014, 03:20:44 am »
set maximizeInfoScreens: true in your config

Offline Angelus_EV

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
  • Trust no one
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2014, 03:26:40 am »
set maximizeInfoScreens: true in your config

thx!
should not be an option accessible to all?

Offline Ishmaeel

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2014, 11:08:00 am »
Ah. I didn't realize this particular can of worms had its own thread in the forums. I'll just link two reports below for reference.

#643  -  Battlescape icon panel drawn over "hidden movement" screen

#644  -  Battlescape resolution returns to normal without really doing so


Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
  • Developer
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: resolution problems
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2014, 01:01:07 pm »
Ah. I didn't realize this particular can of worms had its own thread in the forums. I'll just link two reports below for reference.

those would be some of the problems and inconsistencies i foretold earlier in the thread ;)