Author Topic: Maximum blastRadius?  (Read 8696 times)

Offline Murmur

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Maximum blastRadius?
« on: April 27, 2014, 11:07:01 pm »
Is 11 the maximum size that a blast radius can be set to? I'm trying to make a very expensive and heavy 'Micro Nuke', I'd like a rather sizable explosion out of it, but through my testing it seems that if the blastRadius is set higher than 11, it acts as if it were 11 anyways.

EDIT: Removed the attached picture. Replaced with a better one in my next post.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 03:38:39 am by Murmur »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9867
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2014, 02:13:20 am »
Yep, there's a cap.

Offline Murmur

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2014, 03:20:54 am »
Hm... I wonder, is the cap there for a technical reason or is it there because 11 was the largest explosion radius in the base game?

EDIT:

What I have now:



Sure, that is a massive explosion. But i'd like it to be even larger! The idea is that this bomb is very heavy: weight 33, and costs $200,000. It's causes minor damage to UFO's, blasting through a few adjacent walls, but as you can see from the picture it absolutely levels everything else. But as it stands I feel like I've made an improved High-Explosive that's way too heavy and expensive. If the blast radius could be further increased I think this would be fun to use in emergencies. Chrysalids just zombified half of your squad and all the civilians in a terror mission. Survival unlikely. Nuke the bastards.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 03:33:46 am by Murmur »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9867
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2014, 03:50:03 am »
I assure you, you are not the first person to try adding a mini-nuke for massive damage. :D
I don't think it's an engine limitation. I believe it's hard-coded to prevent modders from having fun. :P

Offline Murmur

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2014, 03:55:44 am »
Haha believe me, I know I'm not. Just seems like something that feels right, considering how much damage we usually end up doing on terror missions anyways. Why not take it to the next level? "The city block was destroyed but the 12 aliens are dead. Mission accomplished! Promotions all around!"

And if it is just an arbitrary cap then maybe it can be lifted.

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2334
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2014, 04:23:41 am »
it's capped, but don't you think a bomb that blows up the whole map is a bit unsporting?

Offline Murmur

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2014, 04:31:47 am »
Sure it is a little! But so is making a gun cost 1% TU for auto fire with a huge accuracy value, and we are able to do that... I get what you are saying though, uncapping it would allow some truly ridiculous things.

Offline Murmur

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2014, 09:58:58 am »
Haha, so I took a peek at the source code and removed the cap on the blast radius... the results are hilarious.

My Micro-Nuke, with a blast radius of 22:

Before:


After:


After the smoke has cleared:


Quite the bang! I need to try this on a terror site next.

Oh and Warboy, those two floaters to the top right thought it was very unsporting indeed!  :P
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 10:02:36 am by Murmur »

Offline yrizoud

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1018
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2014, 10:58:50 am »
^ I think Murmur has perfectly stated his case.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9867
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2014, 11:28:23 am »
Actually, I have to agree as well. We have plenty of ways to abuse the system already (as evidenced by half the weapon mods :P ), so I can't see why limit this particular case.

BTW, a 100 million worth tzar bomb would be a good way of spending excess money. :P

Offline Camalex97

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2014, 03:38:19 pm »
wow... what would that do if It was placed somewhere like an alien base or the center of a harvester ufo (or whatever the hexagon one is) would be cool if you uploaded it

Offline Human Ktulu

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 130
  • Cuistre !
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2014, 07:57:16 pm »
Nice nuke test  ;D

But that will not to improve the tactical side of game !

(or for Predator mod maybe ...)

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5239
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2014, 08:50:48 pm »
I am a bit pivved about the blast radius cap myself... I don't like when game designers try to save modders from themselves, feels kinda Microsoft... I've played with similar idea to yours a few months ago, when I started working on Piratez mod... :) But well, YOU SHALL NOT MAKE BIG EXPLOSIONS, says the Word of God.

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2401
    • View Profile
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2014, 08:56:13 pm »
But you still can use Holy Hand Grenade :D

volutar

  • Guest
Re: Maximum blastRadius?
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2014, 08:57:41 pm »
Why to bother? Just add "Win" button to battlescape, which automatically kills all aliens. And "Win" button in "alien craft detected" screen. Also make radar radius 6000. After 30 minutes of playing that game you simply will delete this game.
It's called "game raping". And totally destroys gameplay and game itself.
it's quite reasonable that developers don't want to make their game piece of shit. Even by third-party mods (i.e. ain't taking responsibility for this raping directly).
« Last Edit: April 28, 2014, 09:18:27 pm by volutar »