Author Topic: [COMPILATION] Final Mod Pack (FMP)  (Read 1580589 times)

Offline Ajaxial

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #960 on: December 08, 2014, 03:28:58 pm »
Because it isn't the map, weapons, craft or aliens from my test causing the issue.

I tested many times with new battle and regardless of the alien type, your landing craft, squad numbers, loadout, alien tech level, darkness setting etc etc. Terror missions just CTD without any sort of error. It's just a plain process dump without a log.

Offline Cosmos

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #961 on: December 09, 2014, 01:59:34 am »
For me it always crashes on any mission in singleplayer. No log given, except this from openxcom.log:

Quote
[09-12-2014 00:56:53]   [WARN]   No free channels available
[09-12-2014 00:56:54]   [WARN]   No free channels available
[09-12-2014 00:56:54]   [WARN]   No free channels available

Offline Ajaxial

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #962 on: December 09, 2014, 01:59:54 pm »
Interesting.

I've used Early, mid and late october builds, November and currently month nightlies.

I've had issues with all of them. However. It is only terror missions and the mapgen that seems to go awry.

Still. I'm posisitve that the mod maker will ammend or workout the issue at somepoint. :)

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #963 on: December 09, 2014, 03:43:12 pm »
here an example how to make URBANA terrain working in FMP (and restricting Terrormissions to that terrain)
Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_TERROR_MISSION
    terrains:
      - URBANA
#      - URBAN2
#      - MADURBAN
#      - DAWNURBANA
#      - DAWNURBANB
#      - PORTURBAN
#      - INDUSTRIALURBAN
#      - RAILYARDURBAN
#      - NATIVEURBAN
#      - COMRCURBAN
terrains:
  - name: URBANA
    script: URBANA
    mapBlocks:
      - name: URBAN00
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 2
        groups: [2]
      - name: URBAN01
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 3
        groups: [3]
      - name: URBAN02
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 4
        groups: [4]
      - name: URBAN03
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 1
        groups: [0, 1]
        subType: 0
        frequency: 3
      - name: URBAN04
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 1
        groups: [0, 1]
        subType: 0
        frequency: 3
      - name: URBAN05
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN06
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN07
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN08
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN09
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN14
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN15
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN16
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN17
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN18
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: SOLBAN01
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 1
      - name: SOLBAN02
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 1
mapScripts:
  - type: URBANA
    commands:
    - type: addCraft
    - type: addLine
      label: 1
      direction: vertical
      executionChances: 50
      rects:
        - [1, 1, 4, 1]
    - type: addLine
      label: 2
      conditionals: -1
      executionChances: 50
      direction: horizontal
      rects:
        - [1, 1, 1, 3]
    - type: addLine
      conditionals: [-1, -2]
      direction: both
      rects:
        - [1, 1, 3, 3]
    - type: addBlock
      size: 2
      executions: 4
    - type: fillArea

problem with my first fix was setting URBAN script for all "road type" terrains
but that urban script contained hardcoded blocks informations
Code: [Select]
    - type: fillArea
#..
      blocks: [3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14]
      freqs: [3, 3, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2]
and for some/all? modded terains these blocknumbers did not work so i just made a copy of the urban script and removed the block/freqs properties
tried it 3-4 times in new battle and seems to work

Offline scavenger

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
    • IT Cooking
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #964 on: December 12, 2014, 02:48:34 am »
hello

thanks a lot for this astoundishing work :)

however i get a crash once I try to land on a terror site.

How do I get more log ? Debug at true doesn't generate more log

I use:
X-Com.UFO.Defense[PC][Win7.x86.x64].rar
+ openxcom_git_master_2014_12_10_1553
+ Final Mod Pack_0.9.7.1
« Last Edit: December 12, 2014, 03:06:12 am by scavenger »

Offline berserkerHamster

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #965 on: December 13, 2014, 01:07:50 pm »
Hi!
Thanks for this great mod and your awesome work!
I'm really looking forward to when you are able to fix the terrain issues! The first mods (Terrain Pack) are already adapting to the new map scripting.

However until then, for those of you who can't get it to run with the new nightlies, this is the last one I know of that works with FMP 0.9.7.1 without problems (thanks to davoguha):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/95870994/openxcom_git_master_2014_11_17_1232.zip

Have Fun!

Offline megadeth666

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #966 on: December 19, 2014, 09:43:58 pm »
Hi!
Thanks for this great mod and your awesome work!
I'm really looking forward to when you are able to fix the terrain issues! The first mods (Terrain Pack) are already adapting to the new map scripting.

However until then, for those of you who can't get it to run with the new nightlies, this is the last one I know of that works with FMP 0.9.7.1 without problems (thanks to davoguha):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/95870994/openxcom_git_master_2014_11_17_1232.zip

Have Fun!

So i managed to get this working with no apparent issue, with the nightly in the quote above. Otherwise , using the latest nightlie , ships were merged with the terrain.

But on my fifth or sixth mission I encountered invulnerable mutons and crysalids, who were also using mind control and such. Prior to that in a terror mission i was fighting ciberdisks with 2-3000 effective hp and before that the furries with 1500 or so effective hp.

Needless to say the game is unplayable. Most of what I've seen otherwise was great , except the heavy weapons that used 70 to 90% ap , in a game with no cover ... there is literally NO point in having them use more then 51%.

Offline Duke_Falcon

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 152
  • *Visit my DA site - click on the small globe!*
    • View Profile
    • My DeviantArt
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #967 on: December 21, 2014, 09:20:16 am »
I thought about some times reading here how X-com landing crafts stuck in buildings. I wonder why not crashed UFOs end up their harsh landing in buildings? Afterall it could easily happen, not true?
I know it may hard to code if possible but will it not interesting to see a heavily damaged UFO crashed half into a 3-levels block house? Or a barn set ablaze the surroundings?

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #968 on: December 21, 2014, 09:36:24 am »
I wonder why not crashed UFOs end up their harsh landing in buildings? Afterall it could easily happen, not true?
that would happen if the ufo crashes in a terrain with buildings what they do not do (by default)

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11408
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #969 on: December 24, 2014, 02:16:40 pm »
Hi,

Just a sign I'm alive and kicking. Well, trying to update the FMP, but I'm missing a lot of information, and the information on the wiki page is grossly inadequate.

I'll do what I can now, then start pestering people for answers. For example, how do you set an alien base command centre?

here an example how to make URBANA terrain working in FMP (and restricting Terrormissions to that terrain)
Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_TERROR_MISSION
    terrains:
      - URBANA
#      - URBAN2
#      - MADURBAN
#      - DAWNURBANA
#      - DAWNURBANB
#      - PORTURBAN
#      - INDUSTRIALURBAN
#      - RAILYARDURBAN
#      - NATIVEURBAN
#      - COMRCURBAN
terrains:
  - name: URBANA
    script: URBANA
    mapBlocks:
      - name: URBAN00
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 2
        groups: [2]
      - name: URBAN01
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 3
        groups: [3]
      - name: URBAN02
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 4
        groups: [4]
      - name: URBAN03
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 1
        groups: [0, 1]
        subType: 0
        frequency: 3
      - name: URBAN04
        width: 10
        length: 10
        type: 1
        groups: [0, 1]
        subType: 0
        frequency: 3
      - name: URBAN05
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN06
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN07
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN08
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN09
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: URBAN14
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN15
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN16
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN17
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: URBAN18
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 2
      - name: SOLBAN01
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 1
      - name: SOLBAN02
        width: 10
        length: 10
        frequency: 1
mapScripts:
  - type: URBANA
    commands:
    - type: addCraft
    - type: addLine
      label: 1
      direction: vertical
      executionChances: 50
      rects:
        - [1, 1, 4, 1]
    - type: addLine
      label: 2
      conditionals: -1
      executionChances: 50
      direction: horizontal
      rects:
        - [1, 1, 1, 3]
    - type: addLine
      conditionals: [-1, -2]
      direction: both
      rects:
        - [1, 1, 3, 3]
    - type: addBlock
      size: 2
      executions: 4
    - type: fillArea

problem with my first fix was setting URBAN script for all "road type" terrains
but that urban script contained hardcoded blocks informations
Code: [Select]
    - type: fillArea
#..
      blocks: [3, 4, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14]
      freqs: [3, 3, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2]
and for some/all? modded terains these blocknumbers did not work so i just made a copy of the urban script and removed the block/freqs properties
tried it 3-4 times in new battle and seems to work

Falko, why is it
Code: [Select]
        groups: [2]Instead of
Code: [Select]
        groups: 2?

And why did you leave
Code: [Select]
        type: 2in the ruleset?

And what's the deal with all that mapScripts stuff, like "direction: vertical", "addBlock" and so on? The Ufopaedia page mentioned it, but contained no real information on what it does. Apparently you learned this from somewhere, so. :)

TLDR, if the Ufopaedia article is made useful, I'll gladly fix the maps. Right now, I can't see this happening.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2014, 02:24:08 pm by Solarius Scorch »

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 802
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #970 on: December 25, 2014, 02:00:24 am »
"how do you set an alien base command centre?"
take a look at the existing scripts
first part:
Code: [Select]
- type: ALIENBASE
    commands:
    - type: addBlock
      groups: 2
      executions: 2
    - type: addBlock
      size: 2
      groups: 3
and
Spoiler:
Code: [Select]
- name: UBASE
    mapDataSets:
      - BLANKS
      - U_BASE
      - U_WALL02
      - U_PODS
      - BRAIN
    mapBlocks:
      - name: UBASE_00
        width: 20
        length: 20
        groups: 3
      - name: UBASE_01
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: UBASE_02
        width: 20
        length: 20
      - name: UBASE_03
        width: 20
        length: 20
        items:
          STR_ELERIUM_115:
            - [2, 14, 1]
      - name: UBASE_04
        width: 10
        length: 10
        groups: 2
        revealedFloors: 1
      - name: UBASE_05
        width: 10
        length: 10
      - name: UBASE_06
        width: 10
        length: 10
      - name: UBASE_07
        width: 10
        length: 10
        groups: 1
      - name: UBASE_08
        width: 10
        length: 10
      - name: UBASE_09
        width: 10
        length: 10
      - name: UBASE_10
        width: 10
        length: 10
      - name: UBASE_11
        width: 10
        length: 10
#       UBASE_12 is impassable, 13 and 14 are apparently unused.
#       in the interest of preserving an original experience,
#       they have been disabled by being added to group 5, which is unused in the scripts.
      - name: UBASE_12
        width: 10
        length: 10
        groups: 5
      - name: UBASE_13
        width: 10
        length: 10
        groups: 5
      - name: UBASE_14
        width: 10
        length: 10
        groups: 5
      - name: UBASE_15
        width: 20
        length: 20
        groups: 4
it adds two blocks of group 2 and one of group 3
if you take a look at the asignemnt in the terrains only the commandcenter ubase_00 has type 3 so its always placed the xcom placement ubase=04 is group2 ans with executions:2 is placed two times before the map is filled with other blocks
its a bit confusing because normally the types 2-4 are the default groups used by the addlines command for roads here these numbers are used for different stuff but it works fine because no addline commands in the alinebase script
Falko, why is it
Code: [Select]
        groups: [2]Instead of
Code: [Select]
        groups: 2?

a terrain can be member of multiple groups
internally all "just a number" group declarations are converted into a list
and i like to be consistent instead of jumping between sometimes list sometimes number i prefer only list
but you can use "just number" without a problem
And why did you leave
Code: [Select]
        type: 2in the ruleset?

to make it somwhat workable with old and new nightlies/1.0
And what's the deal with all that mapScripts stuff, like "direction: vertical", "addBlock" and so on?

addline has a direction parameter it can be used for roads in a terror site with only vertical or only horicontal or both directions
addblock tries to put a block in a free space in a map
lets take a look at the first aiienbase command
Code: [Select]
     - type: addBlock
      groups: 2
      executions: 2
it adds a block of group "2" two times (executions :2)
what terrainblock is group 2 is defined in terrains
you can do more stuff with executionchances, condinal , freq(uencies) max( occurances),....
Apparently you learned this from somewhere, so.
pestering warboy and trying stuff for myself :)
TLDR, if the Ufopaedia article is made useful, I'll gladly fix the maps. Right now, I can't see this happening.

i would say the mapscript needs its own page describing how conditionals groups, labels  terrain ,.. interacts with each other is IMHO more than the already long ruleset-file description site needs

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11408
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #971 on: December 26, 2014, 01:44:55 am »
it adds two blocks of group 2 and one of group 3
if you take a look at the asignemnt in the terrains only the commandcenter ubase_00 has type 3 so its always placed the xcom placement ubase=04 is group2 ans with executions:2 is placed two times before the map is filled with other blocks
its a bit confusing because normally the types 2-4 are the default groups used by the addlines command for roads here these numbers are used for different stuff but it works fine because no addline commands in the alinebase script

Ah, thanks.
Now how was I suppose to know that? :P

a terrain can be member of multiple groups
internally all "just a number" group declarations are converted into a list
and i like to be consistent instead of jumping between sometimes list sometimes number i prefer only list
but you can use "just number" without a problem

Okay, makes sense.

Thanks for all the answers Falko, your dedication really shows. Sadly, it only highlights that without proper documentation, this mod can only be abandoned. I am not going to spend days over something like that, because I do not have the time.

Offline kazek

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 30
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #972 on: December 29, 2014, 01:38:33 pm »
Hello,
Sorry, if it was allready reported, but i have a serious bug. Antytime i click on the base screen, i get ctd. I've dissabled all of the other mods but it doesn't helped. The only thing, besides Openxcom i use currently is Soldier Diaries. Maybe anyone had same problem and can help me?

Offline Harald_Gray

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #973 on: December 29, 2014, 07:49:25 pm »
Thanks for all the answers Falko, your dedication really shows. Sadly, it only highlights that without proper documentation, this mod can only be abandoned. I am not going to spend days over something like that, because I do not have the time.

Not that I'm telling you what to do with your time but... How about leaving out, at least for the time being, the parts that cause these problems, i.e. the new maps, and keeping everything else? You can always add them back in once the other mod authors update their map mods, right?

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2101
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [COMPILATION][RESEARCH] FMP Core/Tech Tree part
« Reply #974 on: December 30, 2014, 05:13:20 pm »
I've recently finished updating the ruleset of the Terrain Pack to the latest nightly, so that should fix the issues with crashes using the terror site terrains (at least those in the pack). I'm not going to release a new version of the Terrain Pack soon but I can make the ruleset available to fix the FMP.

Are there any other terrains (made by other contributors) that are causing issues? If so, I can fix them.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2014, 05:18:39 pm by Hobbes »