Author Topic: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.  (Read 17623 times)

Offline Juju Dredd

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
    • My gamer website (french)
Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« on: August 26, 2013, 03:31:41 am »
Hello budies. I have two screens, and I know this configuration is more and more usual.
One of my screen has a 16/10 resolution, so it would be great to play ufo full screen.

So, I use the free nircmd tool as follows:
I launch OpenXcom, then change graphics options to display window with resolution 1920x1200.
In a command prompt I use the following commands:
Code: [Select]
nircmdc win -style title "OpenXcom 0.9" 0x00C00000
nircmdc win setsize title "OpenXcom 0.9" 0 0 1920 1200

First command removes all borders to the window but slightly increase display size. Second command move the window to the top-left of main screen (at (0,0) coordinates) then give the window the exact size 1920x1200. Then OpenXcom occupies the whole screen. Being in a "window", not real fullscreen mode, you can move cursor on the other screen, and use a web browser for ufopedia wiki or anything you like, and the taskbar appear if you move the cursor down (I have set it to "always on top" and "disappear automatically").


Hope that will help other peoples.

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2159
    • View Profile
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2013, 06:30:21 am »
FYI, you can do this in OpenXcom itself by setting "borderless: true", "windowedModePositionX: 0", "windowedModePositionY: 0" in the options.cfg. We'll add a GUI option for this at some point.

Offline Juju Dredd

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
    • My gamer website (french)
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2013, 12:32:38 pm »
FYI, you can do this in OpenXcom itself by setting "borderless: true", "windowedModePositionX: 0", "windowedModePositionY: 0" in the options.cfg. We'll add a GUI option for this at some point.

I somewhat feel stupid now...  :-[

Edit: Is there another "hidden" option to have game add black bands rather than deforming image when you choose a resolution other than 16x10?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2013, 01:09:13 pm by Juju Dredd »

Offline Shoes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
    • View Profile
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2013, 01:23:07 pm »
I thought you were going to propose that this game work on two monitors at once, like Supreme Commander or something. That would be cool.

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2159
    • View Profile
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2013, 08:41:01 pm »
I somewhat feel stupid now...  :-[

Edit: Is there another "hidden" option to have game add black bands rather than deforming image when you choose a resolution other than 16x10?
No, it's on my TODO.

I thought you were going to propose that this game work on two monitors at once, like Supreme Commander or something. That would be cool.
I'm not sure how this would work.

Offline Juju Dredd

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
    • My gamer website (french)
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2013, 11:19:35 pm »
No, it's on my TODO.

Do you thing a beginner with SDL (such as me) could try to do it?

Offline Shoes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
    • View Profile
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2013, 12:33:05 am »
I'm not sure how this would work.

Honestly, me neither. The other screen should have a mini map? Soldier inventory? Stats? Or... a second viewport like OpenTTD does??

Maybe if you run out of bugs to squash.

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2159
    • View Profile
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2013, 02:01:47 am »
Do you thing a beginner with SDL (such as me) could try to do it?
If you want.

Offline Align

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 196
    • View Profile
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2013, 12:21:10 pm »
I'm not sure how this would work.
In Battlescapes it could just be the minimap. Geoscape... UFO activity graphs?

Offline Mr. Quiet

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 523
  • Likes: Quiet things. Dislikes: Loud things.
    • View Profile
    • =Open_X_Com= Mods
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2013, 06:29:18 am »
Geoscape on one screen. Battlescape on the other.

When you're on the battlescape, time only moves on the Geoscape as you end your turns. Then while you're on the Geoscape, when you click on any part of the map, the Battlescape screen shows you the terrain in that area you clicked on. Satellite pictures :)

Offline moriarty

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1421
    • View Profile
    • Luke's OX mod site
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2013, 12:03:07 pm »
the game mechanics aren't built for things like that. geoscape time stops entirely while on a battlescape - otherwise, what will you do if two transport craft land at two crashsites within seconds? while you are still playing one battle, the other would start... chaos.

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1558
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2013, 02:14:11 pm »
the game mechanics aren't built for things like that. geoscape time stops entirely while on a battlescape - otherwise, what will you do if two transport craft land at two crashsites within seconds? while you are still playing one battle, the other would start... chaos.
I thought they had orders not to disembark until you were overseeing the mission :P

Offline Daiky

  • Battlescape Programmer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
    • View Profile
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2013, 03:11:30 pm »
what will you do if two transport craft land at two crashsites within seconds?
You'll need a third screen for that - playing two battles simultaneously :)

Offline moriarty

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1421
    • View Profile
    • Luke's OX mod site
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2013, 03:37:28 pm »
now that would be something... but with a RTS :D

"you are the commander of a global operation. everything depends on you. you will be fighting multiple battles simultaneously. good luck."  8)

Offline Juju Dredd

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
    • My gamer website (french)
Re: Playing comfortable with a dual screen.
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2013, 11:12:48 pm »
now that would be something... but with a RTS :D

"you are the commander of a global operation. everything depends on you. you will be losing multiple battles simultaneously. good luck."  8)

Corrected  :P