aliens

Author Topic: Mods active in Save?  (Read 4542 times)

Offline pmprog

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
  • Contributor
    • View Profile
    • Polymath Programming
Mods active in Save?
« on: July 14, 2013, 10:22:31 am »
So I was thinking, as you enable mods in the game config, does that mean you need to leave them active when you load a saved game that was using them?

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2333
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Mods active in Save?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2013, 11:47:16 am »
depends on the scope of the mod really. if it adds something, then generally yes. if it modifies an existing thing in some way, then generally no.

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2159
    • View Profile
Re: Mods active in Save?
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2013, 05:20:17 pm »
I imagine weird stuff might happen if you start changing the mods that affect a save, so it's probably best to avoid it.

Mods were originally planned to be tied to savegames but were changed to options for some reason, might have to look into that again.

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2333
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Mods active in Save?
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2013, 11:45:43 pm »
or do like beth games and keep an internal list in the saved game of what mods were active, compare it to the currently active list, and flash up a warning along the lines of "this saved game relies on content which is no longer available, are you sure?"

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2159
    • View Profile
Re: Mods active in Save?
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2013, 02:07:27 am »
That's how OpenTTD works, the only problem is having all saves visible at once can be a nuisance if say you're playing UFO and don't wanna see TFTD saves etc.

Offline 54x

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: Mods active in Save?
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2013, 01:04:54 pm »
Or even better, just have the save check if you still have the ruleset names installed for the enabled mods and automatically swap them in while playing that game, and see if it loads properly. Means that we need unique names for our rulesets but should be reasonable.

Offline pmprog

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 647
  • Contributor
    • View Profile
    • Polymath Programming
Re: Mods active in Save?
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2013, 02:39:42 pm »
Well, you're already limited to a single mod with the same (file)name.

Might be worth leaving them in the main options as the "defaults" for new games though, unless after you click "New Game" it shows a new dialogue with a list of installed mods that you can click to toggle :)