Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 73912 times)

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2315
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #135 on: March 24, 2015, 05:52:21 am »
yes and no, if they fail to find a spawn node as a scout, they'll try as a non-scout instead, and vice-versa. there's some percentage of how many aliens on average will be scouts and how many won't, defined in the deployment rules.

so for example on a crashed battleship, the commander will always spawn in the control room, the terror units will spawn in the corridors near the lift, engineers will be in the engine rooms in the feet, and so on. some % of each rank (plus any that couldn't find a ranked node) will use rank 0 nodes instead, and spawn outside the ship.

basically, put ranked nodes in the ships, and unranked nodes in the terrain.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2015, 06:01:19 am by Warboy1982 »

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #136 on: March 24, 2015, 01:27:00 pm »
Thanks

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #137 on: April 04, 2015, 03:19:04 am »
Finally a new version, I lost track of all the changes, but they are mostly GUI improvements like
  * The auto-zoom
  * Tabbed Top and Route views.
  * Some tool tip and labels change in the route view.

Hope you guys like it.

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8603
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #138 on: April 04, 2015, 11:20:46 am »
Works like a charm. The Auto-Zoom is nice. Clearly a progress!

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #139 on: April 04, 2015, 07:58:19 pm »
I think most of the bugs are solved now, I'll probably will work on import and maintenance wizards of path and related things.

Offline jackstraw2323

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #140 on: April 07, 2015, 03:36:29 pm »
Feature request: some kind of report or indicator for unused mcd entries. I've got some overly large terrain sets right now, and that would help me edit them down a bit without having to click on the tiles to try and figue it out by eyeballing it.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3451
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #141 on: April 07, 2015, 03:40:32 pm »
I think most of the bugs are solved now, I'll probably will work on import and maintenance wizards of path and related things.

Haven't had time & opportunity to check this update yet but will give you feedback when I restart map designing soon.

Feature request: some kind of report or indicator for unused mcd entries. I've got some overly large terrain sets right now, and that would help me edit them down a bit without having to click on the tiles to try and figue it out by eyeballing it.

Have you tried the Visible option in TopView's window? It allows you to choose which elements you want visible (Ground, West Wall, North Wall, Object) on screen.

Offline jackstraw2323

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #142 on: April 07, 2015, 05:19:53 pm »
I don't think that's what I'm after. I want to know which mcd tiles aren't used at all on the map. That's tricky if you have two tiles that look very similar. Or for instance the wing tiles on the plane are so small sometimes it's tough to see them on the top view.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3451
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #143 on: April 07, 2015, 05:33:44 pm »
I don't think that's what I'm after. I want to know which mcd tiles aren't used at all on the map. That's tricky if you have two tiles that look very similar. Or for instance the wing tiles on the plane are so small sometimes it's tough to see them on the top view.

The opposite might be better: something to display which tiles are used on the map. This because from my experience each map block uses, on average 20-30 different tiles, depending on size, etc, and tilesets used on the maps have a total of 150-255 tiles.

Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #144 on: April 08, 2015, 08:30:36 pm »
I wish I know the occurrence of any tile on the current map

because it could be drive to remove some unused  tile from a .pck

An othe feature, unconnected with the current map,
could be a main item menu to select a map or a group of maps, and
for each map,
increment or decrement map tile index that are between a couple of value  to allow resizing  tileset used on maps.

Something such as this pseudocode
that I inspired by here  8)
https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,3120.msg35775.html#msg35775

I do not know pyton, if someone would correct it ... :-[
Code: [Select]
from sys import argv

filename = argv[0]
startindex = argv[1]
offset = argv[2]

with open(filename, 'rb') as irdata:

    routes_bytearray = bytearray(irdata.read())
   
    print ''USAGE: map_filename startindex offset''

    print "Do you want to proceed? y/n"
   
    if raw_input('> ') == 'y':
   
        with open(filename, 'wb') as orfh:
         
            for i in range(startindex, sizeof(routes_bytearray) - 1):
                routes_bytearray[i] += offset
           
            orfh.write(routes_bytearray)
   
    else:
        print "Next time."


startindex must be greater than 2 to skip map dimension


« Last Edit: April 08, 2015, 10:50:04 pm by davide »

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3451
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #145 on: April 08, 2015, 11:35:29 pm »
Finally a new version, I lost track of all the changes, but they are mostly GUI improvements like
  * The auto-zoom
  * Tabbed Top and Route views.
  * Some tool tip and labels change in the route view.

Hope you guys like it.

Love the auto-zoom. I've been wanting something like that for a long time. :)

The new icons for Top View are great. The green square instead of triangle for objects is new but works, along with the door icons. A different ground color for lifts would also be useful, and something to distinguish between UFO and regular walls. 

EDIT: just started using it more and I like the change to the walls, showing the windows and so on, but there seems to be some issues when displaying outside walls like fences. Check image below where I show one map in both real and top view.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2015, 01:25:52 am by Hobbes »

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #146 on: April 09, 2015, 08:30:23 am »
Nice, thanks for all the feebbacks.

Davide and jackstraw2323 - I think what you guys need is something like a MapSet optimizer, something to do all the work and return you a cleaner pack of PCK and whatnots, I may work on that.

Hobbes -
A different ground color for lifts would also be useful
yea I was thinking about that some time ago, but I forgot, I may look into it.

issues when displaying outside walls like fences

Can you PM me the MCD and stuff, cuz what I use is the LOFT info, and I would like to see it to figure out what is it, probably the issue is that thoes are "Tall fence" so they contain no "air", but still would like to make sure thats the case, I attached an image of how I figured out a Cultiva fence using Volutar's tool
« Last Edit: April 09, 2015, 03:28:03 pm by TheBigSot »

Offline jackstraw2323

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #147 on: April 09, 2015, 07:03:17 pm »
An optimizer would be great, but the report would probably be simpler to implement and let us optimize ourselves.

Along those lines if there were a way to select all mcds on the map and swap them with a different mcd it would help. When I change my mcd files my maps can get messed up if I'm removing a mcd I found I didn't need after all.

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8603
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #148 on: April 09, 2015, 07:44:45 pm »
Along those lines if there were a way to select all mcds on the map and swap them with a different mcd it would help. When I change my mcd files my maps can get messed up if I'm removing a mcd I found I didn't need after all.

This.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3451
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #149 on: April 09, 2015, 09:34:15 pm »
Can you PM me the MCD and stuff, cuz what I use is the LOFT info, and I would like to see it to figure out what is it, probably the issue is that thoes are "Tall fence" so they contain no "air", but still would like to make sure thats the case, I attached an image of how I figured out a Cultiva fence using Volutar's tool

The MCD is in the attachment