Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 178113 times)

Online kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #450 on: November 16, 2019, 11:05:26 pm »
2019 November 16

Tileslot Substitution [Ctrl+U] - opens a dialog box for replacing tileparts of a given setId with tileparts of a different setId across the currently loaded Map. Tileparts of a given setId can optionally be cleared from a Map.

thanks to Kato for the suggestion

Offline Finnik

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
  • Finnik#0257
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #451 on: November 30, 2019, 08:38:53 pm »
cant see an option to create new map? am i blind?

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1564
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #452 on: November 30, 2019, 09:45:09 pm »
I dont think it does yet ( if it does, i have never found it, but to be honest, i have not gone looking before today), you just edit it through the "MapTilesets.yml" file in your favourite Text Editor, you will find this in the Settings folder of Mapview2.

the Process is:
Manually duplicate your desired  .map file and .Rmp files, renames these to what ever you want
Open MapTilesets.ym
Edit the file to create your new map names

as you can see below, the format of the MapTilesets.ym is pretty straight forward:
Code: [Select]
#----- base XCOM --------------------------------------------------------------#
  - type: XBASE_00
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes
  - type: XBASE_01
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes
  - type: XBASE_02
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes

Online kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #453 on: November 30, 2019, 11:35:58 pm »
what luke says is correct, but MapviewII's design policy is that ->

left/right clicks on the MapTree should/ought handle all procedures ...

a) create and/or select a Group->Category in the tree
b) select the Category you want to create the tileset (aka Map) in
c) right-click -> add Tileset ...
d) check the displayed Basepath (change it if you want to), type in a Map label (aka filename w/out extension)*, click "create"
e) add some terrains since Maps without terrains won't be saved, iirc.

ACCEPT the TilesetEditor and a fresh blank 10x10 tileset should appear


* or browse to an existing Map's file if you want to add one that already exists on your hardrive

Offline Finnik

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
  • Finnik#0257
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #454 on: January 07, 2020, 02:14:38 am »
is there a option to duplicate maps? im making a set of very similar maps and id like to see some option in UI like that

Online kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #455 on: January 07, 2020, 04:05:45 am »
is there a option to duplicate maps? im making a set of very similar maps and id like to see some option in UI like that

hm. good idea

not available at present though. @luke83 or others might have a finer answer, but I'd say go to your hardrive, MAPS and ROUTES directories, and copy the maps/routes you want over to new filenames ... then go back to MapView2 and set them up manually with the TilesetEditor

will put it on my TODO.


(note, there is a command to export/import routes in RouteView ...)

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1564
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #456 on: January 07, 2020, 07:53:19 am »
I just manually copy the Maps and Routes to temp file, then use a Bulk Renaming Tool to change the names. In mapview, just open the Map Tileset.YML file, find the data you want and duplicate and rename there with your favourite Text Editor and your good to go.

Offline Finnik

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 383
  • Finnik#0257
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #457 on: January 09, 2020, 05:27:29 pm »
yeah, but it would be so nice to have a UI option to do that)

Offline bulletdesigner

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #458 on: January 21, 2020, 12:11:47 pm »
hello, i started using mapview 2 and it´s a better than mapview 1 on a lot of aspect , so thks for the upgrade.
Anyway i have a strange issue, on same maps the app crashes when taking a image, and i can´t figure out why, for example map_05 with the same MCDS of map_13 crashes and map_13 don´t and map_13 is even bigger

Online kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #459 on: January 21, 2020, 06:33:16 pm »
heya,

(i thought i fixed that...)

some things to try:
there are screenshot settings under MainView|Edit|Options|Screenshot
- BackgroundColor
- CropBackground
- Png_notGif

(esp. CropBackground and/or Png_notGif)

some questions:
what OS are you on?
how many levels of your Map are currently displayed when taking the screenshot? iirc, the previous bug happened when MainView was on its top level, ie taking a screenshot of all levels.


Could you send me a package w/ the .MAP and .RMP, plus the terrains? And steps to reproduce ...
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 06:35:19 pm by kevL »

Offline bulletdesigner

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #460 on: January 21, 2020, 07:03:18 pm »
well if you fixed, i download a long time ago, and started using now due to windows 10 i cant get the older mapview to work. Maybe i just need to update can you point out the latest update?

Online kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #461 on: January 21, 2020, 07:41:13 pm »
https://github.com/kevL/OpenXCOM.Tools/blob/master/Distribution/README.md

ps. there may have been some big changes since the version you have. I suggest backing up your old installation folder and reinstalling from scratch

(then copy in your MapTilesets.yml to /settings)

if you scroll down through the changelog on the linked page it has further info about this.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 07:45:19 pm by kevL »

Offline bulletdesigner

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 624
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #462 on: January 21, 2020, 08:38:26 pm »
yap , its fixed now , thks

Online kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 408
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #463 on: January 21, 2020, 09:03:32 pm »
k, welcome

Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
    • View Profile
[NEW request] Import from mod rule file
« Reply #464 on: January 26, 2020, 11:25:29 am »
Hi Kevl,
i wish a new  import function in mapview to select a mod rule file and automatically load tilesets with ufo, terrain and craft maps (or 3 different actions to do it).

Code: [Select]
ufos:
  - type: STR_SURVEY_SHIP
    sprite: 1
    battlescapeTerrainData:
      name: UFO02
      mapDataSets:
        - BLANKS
        - UEXT2
        - UEXT3
        - UINT1
        - UINT2
        - UINT3
      mapBlocks:
        - name: UFO02
          width: 10
          length: 10
        - name: UFO02bl1
          width: 10
          length: 10
        - name: UFO02bl2
          width: 10
          length: 10
        - name: UFO02bl3
          width: 10
          length: 10
....

the rule file would enhance the maptilesets

Code: [Select]
#----- tftdShips --------------------------------------------------------------#
#----- USO --------------------------------------------------------------------#
  - type: UFO02
    terrains:
      - UEXT2
      - UEXT3
      - UINT1
      - UINT2
      - UINT3
    category: USO
    group: tftdShips_TWoTS
  - type: UFO02l1
    terrains:
      - UEXT2
      - UEXT3
      - UINT1
      - UINT2
      - UINT3
    category: USO
    group: tftdShips_TWoTS
...

When import a rule file you could create a new group name by path segment.