Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 91574 times)

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3500
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #105 on: February 12, 2015, 01:05:49 pm »
Hi,

I've seen several bugs while using it:
* The copy/paste function for nodes doesn't seem work
* It is possible to move from one map to the other without the dialog asking if you want to save the routes (it was supposed to be implemented IIRC)
* Adding new levels doesn't adjust the existing route nodes (it was requested, don't know if it was implemented)
* Choosing a category (NWall, etc.) that doesn't have any entries gives an automatic error message
* Using TAB to switch between boxes on the individual nodes gets me an error message
* The error messages are simply too big (and annoying)

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #106 on: February 13, 2015, 12:57:12 am »
I'll Review the code, but please send me a PM, with all the information shown in the error window, that can speed up the process for this or next time :D

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #107 on: February 13, 2015, 02:24:11 am »
After reviewing

1- In the Route view, the copy/paste function only copies the Node info without the links, I'll change the GUI to reflect this
2- Yeaa, a route verification for saving was added in order to prevent losing unsaved route changes. The verification is shown every time you make a change in the map and try to change it without saving first, I added functionality so the hotkey ctrl + s  work on routes and topView, this way you should be able to save faster and skip the dialog.
3- yaaa, the levels hmmmm... maybe later
4- Fixed the issues with the empty category
5- I was not able to replicate this error, I did fix some of the tabs indexes, but if you provide more information I can try later.
6- Well the error message provides me with all the information I need in order to fix the bugs quickly, but be sure the more I'll work on this project the less anyone will see that window.

New version will be ready soon

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #108 on: February 13, 2015, 05:29:46 am »
New version, I also included the so famously wanted level route fix to add levels and moving the routes correctly, and many other minor fixes.

 :D

I'm also working on a integration with Volutar, now there is a button, but it only opens the Volutar editors,
Ill make it refresh it self from the changes @ volutar's later.

Hmm that was like 5 hours of work huh. Hope you guys enjoy it. I'm tired now.. work tomorrow.. more coding :D

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #109 on: February 14, 2015, 11:32:36 pm »
Today I wake up a bit worry about the code for the leveling, because I didnt take into consideration the Links, are there going to be missing links if u remove a level?

I'm going to do some testings, and if I have time today or tomorrow maybe I'll work on an autoUpdate feature

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #110 on: February 14, 2015, 11:35:15 pm »
Hmm yes missing links are kept, this is probably a minor bug, but I'll fix it

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #111 on: February 15, 2015, 12:02:35 am »
Here, sorry for the inconveniences and happy friends day

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3500
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #112 on: February 15, 2015, 10:02:55 pm »
Here, sorry for the inconveniences and happy friends day

I'll try it in the next days. Thanks :)

Offline tollworkout

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 665
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #113 on: February 15, 2015, 11:20:55 pm »
just tried is works fine.

When i save images as bmp from spk file (sometimes) it gives a crash with option to close or quit. Clicking close does nothing . Clicking quit works. Image is still saved. So the program works just thinks it doesn't  :)

Thank you for the hard work you put into this. Thank you very much.

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #114 on: February 16, 2015, 06:47:11 pm »
Hi, I added some new styles to the Top view and Waypoint view.

Offline volutar

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 355
  • Vanilla digger & Quality assistant
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #115 on: February 18, 2015, 10:08:22 pm »
TheBigSot
How do you identify these small "corner" tiles?
I suppose you're deciphered bigwall flag for the topview, but there's no "corner" piece there. Is it just an object with "free movement"?
« Last Edit: February 18, 2015, 10:28:44 pm by volutar »

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #116 on: February 19, 2015, 12:07:24 am »
Hi, Im using loft information, but not all loft (ex: Some corners) are identified as the correct object shape, maybe later i'll add other loft combinations,

Im not sure woot thoes flag(big wall, or some others) do or represent, since they are edited in ur tool, got lil experience on them
Maybe ill check the mcd info later

Happy coding
« Last Edit: February 19, 2015, 01:27:23 pm by TheBigSot »

Offline TheBigSot

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
  • Fight, Die, Repeat.
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #117 on: February 23, 2015, 02:10:47 pm »
Some minor improvements, including better topview corners and capacity to set routes to dif height in UFO, to eliminate a problem with basement UFO levels

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2233
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #118 on: February 23, 2015, 02:33:10 pm »
One question:
Is it possible to include seperate Map/route paths for custom maps?
Or do they all have to be in the OpenXcom folder. i like to keep this seperate and it would also make more sense.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9161
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #119 on: February 23, 2015, 02:50:02 pm »
One question:
Is it possible to include seperate Map/route paths for custom maps?
Or do they all have to be in the OpenXcom folder. i like to keep this seperate and it would also make more sense.

I'd also very much prefer to have them separated from vanilla stuff, mainly for ease of modding. Hopefully it'll happen some day.