aliens

Author Topic: [Solved] landspawning in hybrid mod  (Read 1867 times)

Offline ashtroboy79

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
[Solved] landspawning in hybrid mod
« on: October 01, 2022, 09:06:29 pm »
There's a bug involving Alien Bases spawning while using the incorrect missionzone that is assigned to it.  Where in this instance an alien base suppose to spawn at sea is spawn on land (Spain). It is suppose to use a SEASPAWNS missionzone, yet it end up using a LANDSPAWNS missionzone in the Hybrid mod.  This is a rare bug I believe it is in the OXCE, please investigate

« Last Edit: February 05, 2023, 02:07:16 pm by Meridian »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8718
    • View Profile
Re: landspawning in hybrid mod
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2023, 03:35:41 pm »
where do I download the mod?

Offline mutantlord

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: landspawning in hybrid mod
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2023, 12:57:30 am »
Mod.io for XCom has the latest version. Link https://openxcom.old.mod.io/hybrid-mod-version-372a

Offline mutantlord

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: landspawning in hybrid mod
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2023, 12:10:11 pm »
I believe both version are the same, the only diff is one using the original globe, the other is of Luke’s Hybrid globe. The error shown in the screenshot above looks like is from the original globe.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8718
    • View Profile
Re: landspawning in hybrid mod
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2023, 12:20:00 pm »
Here's your issue:

Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_ALIEN_BASE_ASSAULT
...
    script: ALIEMBASEMAP
    objectiveType: 3
    nextStage: STR_ALIEN_BASE_ASSAULTUNDERGROUND
    markerName: STR_ALIEN_BASE
    markerIcon: 7
    genMission:
      STR_ALIEN_SUPPLY: 16
      STR_ALIEN_BASE_UNDERWATER: 16   # <------------------------------------------------------------- here
      STR_ALIEN_RESEARCH: 17
      STR_ALIEN_HARVEST: 17
      STR_ALIEN_ABDUCTION: 17
      STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATION: 17  
    genMissionFreq: 6

The underwater base was created from a supply mission assigned to a land base (either Alien Base-1, -4, -8 or -9).

Region was taken from the location of the generating alien base... in your case completely randomly, since you have multiple regions overlapping on the entire globe... so OpenXcom has no clue, which region to use/take. If I see correctly both SEASPAWNS and LANDSPAWNS cover the entire globe (as first-class regions, not technical) and OpenXcom can randomly take them instead of vanilla regions.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8718
    • View Profile
Re: landspawning in hybrid mod
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2023, 12:24:34 pm »
Another option I can think of is that it used STR_EUROPE region, missionZone 0... region taken from an Alien Base-2 that doesn't exist anymore in this save (i.e. was destroyed in the meantime).

Offline mutantlord

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: landspawning in hybrid mod
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2023, 12:51:41 pm »
I will pass your feedback to the author of the mod. Thank you sir. Hopefully this problem will be solved for all of us playing this mod.

Offline mutantlord

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 122
    • View Profile
Re: landspawning in hybrid mod
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2023, 01:16:11 pm »
There is also another unresolved bug, classified under OXCE support https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,10791.msg149486.html#msg149486

Perhaps an investigation can be conducted when time permits? Thanks
« Last Edit: February 04, 2023, 01:26:20 pm by nooblord »