aliens

Author Topic: Issues with adding custom mapblocks to the game  (Read 1707 times)

Offline Rich

• Sergeant
  • Welp
    • View Profile
Issues with adding custom mapblocks to the game
« on: December 28, 2022, 01:52:08 am »
Hi!

As the title suggests, i'm having problems adding a custom mapblock to the alien base assault.
I've created a new block using MapView2, exported everything and the map generates correctly the way it's intended BUT it's not using the correct terrains i guess?

I've added the terrains used in terrains.rul file but it's still not using the right ones where it's supposed to.

What am i doing wrong here exactly?

Also, sorry if it's obvious and i can't see it, my programming knowledge it's basically zero and i'm creating something step by step without knowing a single thing about modding OpenXcom, i'm studying all from wiki+FMP files.

Thanks for the help!

Offline Rich

• Sergeant
  • Welp
    • View Profile
Re: Issues with adding custom mapblocks to the game
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2022, 03:55:25 am »
Ok, long story short i broke my head on my desk to find the issue and now it's working as intended...almost.

Now only a new "model" i created can't be seen with some other pieces from another terrain file i've found online, they appear black like if it's missing the texture somehow.

Offline Chuckebaby

• Colonel
  • Chrysalis are people too
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2022, 02:28:30 pm »
I saw your post yesterday but realized modding maps is a bit out of my range right now.
I'm still in the editing saved game files, rulesets, league.
However, like most things in life, figuring out on your own with hard work is totally gratifying. Frustrating... but gratifying.

Look forward to doing some of this myself one day. Great work.

Offline kevL

• Colonel
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2022, 04:12:57 am »