Author Topic: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1  (Read 63078 times)

Offline Bluedrake42

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #600 on: February 07, 2024, 07:07:58 pm »
Been playing this mod on 7.11.1

Some suggestions and feedback.

1. When setting aggressiveness for individual soldiers, their aggressiveness settings don't stay persistent when reloading a save game or between missions. It would be great if it was possible to setup aggressiveness states that were permanent... so that way I don't have to reset them every time I load a save or embark on a new mission.

2. Have you thought about also applying AI to interceptors to automate the intercept/dogfight process? I would be interested in potentially automating manufacturing, purchasing, and research options too. Could potentially make the entirety of XCOM and "idle" strategy game which is appealing to me.

Offline Kozinsky

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 86
  • Sorry for my bEd English
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #601 on: February 08, 2024, 09:53:17 am »
2. Have you thought about also applying AI to interceptors to automate the intercept/dogfight process? I would be interested in potentially automating manufacturing, purchasing, and research options too. Could potentially make the entirety of XCOM and "idle" strategy game which is appealing to me.

If you automate all aspects of the game, then what should the player do? Just sit back and watch the game play itself? :)

Offline Xilmi

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #602 on: February 08, 2024, 11:08:34 am »
Been playing this mod on 7.11.1

Some suggestions and feedback.

1. When setting aggressiveness for individual soldiers, their aggressiveness settings don't stay persistent when reloading a save game or between missions. It would be great if it was possible to setup aggressiveness states that were permanent... so that way I don't have to reset them every time I load a save or embark on a new mission.

2. Have you thought about also applying AI to interceptors to automate the intercept/dogfight process? I would be interested in potentially automating manufacturing, purchasing, and research options too. Could potentially make the entirety of XCOM and "idle" strategy game which is appealing to me.
I don't think 7.11.1 already had configurable individual soldier-aggressiveness. I assumed they were permanent and stored in the soldier-object. But this code is not from me, so I'll have to check. I just recently changed the default to 3 as otherwise it's very likely they stall.
If they don't remember the value they were changed to, I'd consider it a bug anyways.

The soldier automation was mostly included for testing-purposes, so I don't have to play out all missions manually. It also was a low-hanging-fruit as I just had to make it possible to use the already existing alien-AI for them anyways.
Threre is no Geoscape-AI for the aliens and if there were, it would probably be playing a very different game to the player anyways. So modifying the entire game to play itself really isn't something I'm willing to do.

Offline eXalted

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #603 on: February 12, 2024, 11:29:14 pm »
I've been having so much (a little masochistic) fun with the mod, nice work!

Wanted to signal a small issue when the "Alternate craft equipment management" option is enabled. It seems the columns are slightly off:

Offline Xilmi

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 569
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #604 on: February 13, 2024, 11:06:05 am »
I never tried this feature. Gotta compare it with how it works in regular OXCE. I vaguely remember someone making a CR related to right-aligned text-orientation to make numbers better comparable.  Guess he might have overlooked this part.

Offline Alpha Centauri Bear

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #605 on: February 14, 2024, 01:31:13 am »
Must be my "number right alignment" feature. Need to make more space for last column.

From the other hand, it seems that the number could either have or not have slash with following difference. In this case I am not sure it needs to be right aligned at all. Yes, it will look misaligned for 1 and 2 digit numbers mix but with this slash character they are not numbers anymore but strings.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2024, 01:33:07 am by Alpha Centauri Bear »