Author Topic: I've made some improvements to XCom - anyone interested?  (Read 4539 times)

Offline NachaZ

• Squaddie
    • View Profile
I've made some improvements to XCom - anyone interested?
« on: February 09, 2022, 03:23:07 pm »
Hello XCom-People,

I've been an XCom-Fan for a long time now. I started playing this game way back as a child, still under MS-DOS. I'm also a big fan of openXCom for its ability to run under modern operating systems as well as its quality of life upgrades.

Recently I've made some changes for my own purposes in order to further increase quality of life:
1. Ufopedia shows Weights, Autofire-Shots and Clip-Sizes. Also the Ufopedia can be called using right click from the craft equipment UI.

2. Soldiers can now be sorted by "Weighted Stats" (PSk+FA>PStr+Re>TU+Str>Sta+He>Throwing), also soldiers are now sorted descending, so e.g. you can automatically put the strongest soldiers first in your craft.

3. Whenever a Soldier recovers from being wounded, a popup is shown - clicking the solder will open the equip craft screen of the soldiers base

4. Improved production UI: Items which cannot be produced due to lack of space or resources are shown in a different color. Also the current stock quantity is shown as an additional column.

5. Storage UI is now sorted from most to least space used and the columns are formatted

I'm making this post because I am not sure if I should make the extra effort to get the changes into the projects' master branch. Right now the changes are missing I18N and have not been tested in TFTD. Also I am no C++-Developer by trade, so I am not totally sure if the source code is up to par. Also I don't have a github-account...

Is there someone out there willing to put in the extra effort or shall I even do it myself? Feedback much appreciated.

Online Meridian

• Global Moderator
  • Commander
    • View Profile
Re: I've made some improvements to XCom - anyone interested?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2022, 03:44:10 pm »