OpenXcom Forum

Modding => Work In Progress => Topic started by: Istrebitel on July 03, 2014, 12:28:07 am

Title: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: Istrebitel on July 03, 2014, 12:28:07 am
I've tried to make this mod:

crafts:
  - type: STR_AVENGER
    deployment:
      - [4, 11, 1, 0]
      - [5, 11, 1, 0]
      - [4, 12, 1, 0]
      - [5, 12, 1, 0]
      - [4, 13, 1, 0]
      - [5, 13, 1, 0]
      - [4, 14, 1, 0]
      - [5, 14, 1, 0]
      - [4, 15, 1, 0]
      - [5, 15, 1, 0]
      - [4, 16, 1, 0]
      - [5, 16, 1, 0]
      - [4, 9, 1, 0]
      - [5, 9, 1, 0]
      - [4, 10, 1, 0]
      - [5, 10, 1, 0]
      - [3, 10, 1, 0]
      - [3, 11, 1, 0]
      - [3, 12, 1, 0]
      - [3, 13, 1, 0]
      - [3, 14, 1, 0]
      - [6, 10, 1, 0]
      - [6, 11, 1, 0]
      - [6, 12, 1, 0]
      - [6, 13, 1, 0]
      - [6, 14, 1, 0]

But it has no effect - the tank still start in the first slot, blocking the exit ramp (and making smoking duty on turn one VERY problematic)
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: tnarg on July 03, 2014, 01:25:46 am
I have no idea if it would work but you could try blanking the old deployment be for setting the new one.  I think the command Somthing like this but I'm not sure.

Deployment[]
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: Xeno Wiper on October 04, 2014, 08:23:35 am
If it's not too late, I have something that could work. It's not ideal, but a soldier can throw a smoke grenade on the floor most of the time.



https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php?topic=2997.0
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: myk002 on October 04, 2014, 10:16:06 am
I believe the 'tanks in front' is hard-coded engine behavior (and is true to the original XCOM).  On the other hand, I'm currently doing a run-through with the FMP (https://www.openxcom.com/mod/final-mod-pack) mod, and the scout tanks shoot smoke grenades...
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: The Reaver of Darkness on October 04, 2014, 11:53:42 am
try this:

crafts:
  - type: STR_AVENGER
    deployment:
      - [4, 15, 1, 0]
      - [5, 15, 1, 0]
      - [4, 16, 1, 0]
      - [5, 16, 1, 0]
      - [3, 13, 1, 0]
      - [4, 13, 1, 0]
      - [3, 14, 1, 0]
      - [4, 14, 1, 0]
      - [5, 13, 1, 0]
      - [6, 13, 1, 0]
      - [5, 14, 1, 0]
      - [6, 14, 1, 0]
      - [4, 11, 1, 0]
      - [5, 11, 1, 0]
      - [4, 12, 1, 0]
      - [5, 12, 1, 0]
      - [4, 9, 1, 0]
      - [5, 9, 1, 0]
      - [4, 10, 1, 0]
      - [5, 10, 1, 0]
      - [3, 10, 1, 0]
      - [3, 11, 1, 0]
      - [3, 12, 1, 0]
      - [6, 10, 1, 0]
      - [6, 11, 1, 0]
      - [6, 12, 1, 0]
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: The Reaver of Darkness on October 04, 2014, 12:07:14 pm
The trick is to set the first unit on the far corner of the tank, with the next 3 filling in the remaining spaces of that tank in any order.
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: guille1434 on October 06, 2014, 11:17:03 pm
Or... Just add a smoke grenade launcher to the tank as a secondary weapon! It is now possible! :-)
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: The Reaver of Darkness on October 07, 2014, 04:26:30 am
Or use my Guardian tanks, and you won't need smoke grenades:

items:

  - type: STR_GUARDIAN_TANK_CANNON
    size: 6
    costBuy: 462000
    costSell: 374000
    transferTime: 96
    weight: 1
    bigSprite: 43
    floorSprite: 0
    handSprite: 0
    bulletSprite: 4
    fireSound: 12
    compatibleAmmo:
      - STR_HWP_S_CANNON_SHELLS
    accuracySnap: 60
    accuracyAimed: 100
    tuSnap: 39
    tuAimed: 70
    battleType: 1
    fixedWeapon: true
    invWidth: 2
    invHeight: 3
    turretType: 0


  - type: STR_HWP_S_CANNON_SHELLS
    size: 0.1
    costBuy: 100
    costSell: 50
    transferTime: 48
    weight: 1
    bigSprite: -1
    floorSprite: 12
    hitSound: 13
    hitAnimation: 26
    power: 60
    damageType: 1
    clipSize: 30
    battleType: 2
    invWidth: 2
    invHeight: 1


units

  - type: STR_GUARDIAN_TANK_CANNON
    race: STR_GUARDIAN_TANK_CANNON
    stats:
      tu: 60
      stamina: 100
      health: 135
      bravery: 110
      reactions: 10
      firing: 54
      throwing: 0
      strength: 60
      psiStrength: 100
      psiSkill: 0
      melee: 70
    armor: GUARDIAN_TANK_ARMOR
    standHeight: 16
    kneelHeight: 16
    value: 20
    deathSound: 23
    moveSound: 14
    energyRecovery: 50


armors

  - type: GUARDIAN_TANK_ARMOR
    spriteSheet: TANKS.PCK
    corpseBattle:
      - TANK_CORPSE_1
      - TANK_CORPSE_2
      - TANK_CORPSE_3
      - TANK_CORPSE_4
    frontArmor: 100
    sideArmor: 90
    rearArmor: 80
    underArmor: 70
    drawingRoutine: 2
    size: 2
    damageModifier:
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 0.4
      - 0.75
      - 1.0
      - 1.0
      - 0.0
      - 0.9
      - 0.4
      - 0.0
    loftempsSet: [ 92, 89, 90, 91 ]
Title: Re: How to mod it so that Tanks do not start on the first slot in the transport?
Post by: Xeno Wiper on October 07, 2014, 10:28:59 am
try this:

crafts:
  - type: STR_AVENGER
    deployment:
      - [4, 15, 1, 0]
      - [5, 15, 1, 0]
      - [4, 16, 1, 0]
      - [5, 16, 1, 0]
      - [3, 13, 1, 0]
      - [4, 13, 1, 0]
      - [3, 14, 1, 0]
      - [4, 14, 1, 0]
      - [5, 13, 1, 0]
      - [6, 13, 1, 0]
      - [5, 14, 1, 0]
      - [6, 14, 1, 0]
      - [4, 11, 1, 0]
      - [5, 11, 1, 0]
      - [4, 12, 1, 0]
      - [5, 12, 1, 0]
      - [4, 9, 1, 0]
      - [5, 9, 1, 0]
      - [4, 10, 1, 0]
      - [5, 10, 1, 0]
      - [3, 10, 1, 0]
      - [3, 11, 1, 0]
      - [3, 12, 1, 0]
      - [6, 10, 1, 0]
      - [6, 11, 1, 0]
      - [6, 12, 1, 0]




Tested it out. Yea, you got it!

But scouts get in the middle of the group.  :-\