OpenXcom Forum

Contributions => Programming => Topic started by: Warboy1982 on April 19, 2013, 09:08:17 am

Title: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Warboy1982 on April 19, 2013, 09:08:17 am
i know a feature lockdown is currently in place, but i'd really like to get this in before the next release if possible. i guess i'm just posting this here as a way of asking permission while i go ahead and code it anyway, seeing as there aren't really any left bugs to fix, and i think i got like a week before we hit the launch button.

for the record, i mean an "advanced" options menu with most if not all of the gameplay-related stuff from the options.cfg (death notifications, instant grenades, custom initial base, etc.)

edit: i think some sort of "advanced graphics options" menu may also be in order, for all the filters/scalers/FPS/openGL stuff.
Title: Re: Options Menu
Post by: michal on April 19, 2013, 10:12:21 am
Well i guess you should do it. It isn't new feature in AI, pathfinding or something like that, so it shouldn't break anything in game. Also, any bugs in it should be easy to catch and fix.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: kkmic on April 19, 2013, 11:56:08 am
I had a launcher in mind for this, but I guess it's better to have it integrated in the game itself.

It isn't new feature in AI, pathfinding or something like that, so it shouldn't break anything in game.

(https://openxcom.org/forum/Themes/Insidius2/images/post/thumbup.gif)(https://openxcom.org/forum/Themes/Insidius2/images/post/thumbup.gif)(https://openxcom.org/forum/Themes/Insidius2/images/post/thumbup.gif)

I agree. You should go ahead and implement it.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: AndO3131 on April 19, 2013, 01:08:24 pm
It's a good idea. Go ahead.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: michal on April 19, 2013, 01:52:02 pm
Also, it will be great if new release could contain this, so ppl can try those extra features without editing text files.

Also, it could be nice if every option could have some nice tooltips with descriptions.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Hythlodaeus on April 19, 2013, 02:00:59 pm
Don't forget sliders for sound and animation speed! Those would help save a lot of space instead of those bulky 1 to 5 buttons.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Warboy1982 on April 19, 2013, 02:53:56 pm
here's what i'm playing with at the moment:
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: moriarty on April 19, 2013, 03:08:21 pm
looks very nice. what are you planning to do about non-boolean parameters?
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Warboy1982 on April 19, 2013, 03:26:19 pm
for say, explosive height, i'm just cycling through 0-3 each time you click on it, like the new battle mode buttons.

here's what i've done to the options menu:
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Warboy1982 on April 19, 2013, 06:39:36 pm
and here's a list of the added strings, please feel free to submit better descriptions.

List of strings (https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,547.msg10642.html#msg10642)
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: redv on April 19, 2013, 07:06:37 pm
STR_RANGEBASEDACCURACY_DESC
This setting fundamentally changes how shot trajectories are calculated, the basic theory being "the further away it the target is, the harder it is to hit." Also takes into account lighting of the target and lowering height of target when he (she) kneeling.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Yankes on April 19, 2013, 07:30:37 pm
Two things against:
a) Will every option work proper without restarting OpenXcom? some could require to be set before game start.
b) You require lot of work for translators to translate all this new text.

One thing in favor:
a) This is great :>
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Warboy1982 on April 20, 2013, 02:44:03 am
that list of strings is by no means final. and as far as i've tested, yes they take effect as soon as you hit "ok".

edit: changed some things up a little, no more right click for description, mouse over instead. ;)
for the record there are 5 total lines for the decription.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: moriarty on April 20, 2013, 07:52:32 am
do you think it would be possible to save/load advanced option "sets"? because I can imagine that people will have several "styles" of playing and might want to switch between them.

or would it even be possible to store the whole set in the savegame? so you can have a "classic" game and a "changed" game and switch between playing them without having to manually set all the options? this might also make debugging easier, because a lot of issues will depend heavily on the advanced options configuration.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Warboy1982 on April 20, 2013, 12:47:12 pm
probably worth looking into at some point in the future, moriarty. for the next release i'm happy to go with it as it is. :)
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Yankes on April 20, 2013, 01:04:57 pm
do you think it would be possible to save/load advanced option "sets"? because I can imagine that people will have several "styles" of playing and might want to switch between them.

or would it even be possible to store the whole set in the savegame? so you can have a "classic" game and a "changed" game and switch between playing them without having to manually set all the options? this might also make debugging easier, because a lot of issues will depend heavily on the advanced options configuration.
probably easiest way is copy ini file, but this is not user friendly :)
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: michal on April 20, 2013, 05:02:01 pm
Good work :)
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: papamaanbeer on April 21, 2013, 02:18:31 am
that list of strings is by no means final. and as far as i've tested, yes they take effect as soon as you hit "ok".

edit: changed some things up a little, no more right click for description, mouse over instead. ;)
for the record there are 5 total lines for the decription.

i am loveing this!!!
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Fenyő on April 21, 2013, 08:13:42 pm
I should have read this topic much more earlier...

BTW, nice job! ;)
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: SHADO on April 22, 2013, 01:13:31 am
+1 to what Fenyő & others said.  While I'm fine editing text files, it makes OXC feel much more like a finished/polished product.  It also lets people easily see a list of improvements over original X-Com.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: xracer on April 23, 2013, 06:26:58 am
really quick about the new strings

STR_STRAFE
Strafe setting

I was thinking to change this to soemthing like

STR_MANEUVERING
Tank maneuvering
STR_STRAFE_DESC
Enable maneuvering, acceleration, and independent tank turret movement. Hold CTRL to use alternate movement methods.

just my thoughts

Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Warboy1982 on April 23, 2013, 09:12:45 am
problem is it's not just tanks that are affected, it also enables strafing movement with soldiers, and the ability to run with soldiers.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Hythlodaeus on April 23, 2013, 02:55:18 pm
I translated it as something like "Alternative Movement Methods"
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: alienfood on April 23, 2013, 03:22:50 pm
That looks great, Warboy.

BTW the "strafe" thing is a standard computer game term for "moving sideways". If you are translating it, find what DOOM or Quake calls it, or just call it Sideways Movement. As Warboy mentioned, the same flag also controls whether you can point the turret ... not sure what to call that, actually.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: anonilsus on April 24, 2013, 02:40:14 am
Please don't forget force fire. That is too much cheating to be on by default.
Or, as discussed in IRC, let the aliens know when the player uses force fire and they get it as well.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: MKSheppard on July 12, 2013, 05:05:01 am
Is it possible to add the following options

Display Resolution
Display Mode (Windowed/Fullscreen)
Display Filter

to the following option screens:

Geoscape Game Option Screen
Battlescape Game Option Screen

Currently you have to abandon your game to go to the main menu in order to change these settings.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: SupSuper on July 12, 2013, 05:55:12 pm
We are planning to have the Options screen available on more than the Main Menu, but there's some technical limitations we need to solve first.
Title: Re: Advanced Options Menu
Post by: Align on July 13, 2013, 12:26:25 pm
Quick request to reword the strafe setting description to something like:
"Hold CTRL (default) when moving soldiers to run (uses more energy) or strafe (only one square at a time)"
as I didn't know it let you run until recently.