OpenXcom Forum

Modding => Help => Topic started by: robin on September 12, 2021, 11:25:22 pm

Title: empty missionZone
Post by: robin on September 12, 2021, 11:25:22 pm
how to leave an empty missionZone in a region:

regions:
...
    missionZones:
      -
        - [7...]
      -
        - [2...]
      -
        - []  <-- I tried this but I get an error
      -
        - [2...]
      -
        - [2...]
      -
        - [1...]

if i leave a zone empty (provided it can be done), what will happen with UFO trajectories passing there?
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: Meridian on September 13, 2021, 11:11:52 am
how to leave an empty missionZone in a region:

One less dash:

Code: [Select]
regions:
...
    missionZones:
      -
        - [7...]
      -
        - [2...]
      -
        []
      -
        - [2...]
      -
        - [2...]
      -
        - [1...]

if i leave a zone empty (provided it can be done), what will happen with UFO trajectories passing there?

the game will just crash when such trajectory will be used
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: robin on September 13, 2021, 10:42:04 pm
I see thanks. I guess I have to take a different approach.
Man this globe editing is neverending.
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: robin on September 14, 2021, 10:32:47 pm
the game will just crash when such trajectory will be used

I have another question, I notice that both ARCTIC and ANTARCTIC have a missioneZone 3, i guess because of the ufoTrajectories issue.
But.. they're not cities, they are square areas like other zones, and also you never get a terror mission there...
How that works?
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: Meridian on September 14, 2021, 11:01:05 pm
In vanilla xcom1, none of the UFO trajectories use mission zone 3 (see ufoTrajectories.rul)... so the game wouldn't crash even if they were empty; they are just not used for UFO trajectories.


As for why you never get a terror mission there... well, because the regions, which don't have any valid areas in their spawnZones are skipped.
Or in simpler words, the game checks whether a terror mission can spawn there or not... and if not, it just tries somewhere else.
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: robin on September 14, 2021, 11:31:52 pm
In vanilla xcom1, none of the UFO trajectories use mission zone 3 (see ufoTrajectories.rul)... so the game wouldn't crash even if they were empty; they are just not used for UFO trajectories.
oh right, I didn't  think about that.
Thanks
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: robin on September 17, 2021, 12:54:12 am
Kind of related question.
You can generate missions form an alien base site with genMission defined in the alienDeployment.
I wonder: what region is targeted by genMission? Same region hosting the alien base site that generated it?
Because if it's a random region, it could be a region without the proper zone for UFO trajectory.
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: Meridian on September 17, 2021, 12:05:19 pm
In OXC, it's always the same region as where the alien base is.

In OXCE, it can be:
1. target a random xcom base region
2. target one of the defined (weighted) regions
3. target the region of the alien base (vanilla default)

Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: robin on September 22, 2021, 12:55:31 am
In OXC, it's always the same region as where the alien base is.

In OXCE, it can be:
1. target a random xcom base region
2. target one of the defined (weighted) regions
3. target the region of the alien base (vanilla default)
Thanks. I want default so no need to change anything I guess.
Title: Re: empty missionZone
Post by: Meridian on September 22, 2021, 10:43:02 am
Thanks. I want default so no need to change anything I guess.

If you don't use alien mission attributes `targetBaseOdds` and `regionWeights`, then point 3/ applies and you don't need to change anything.