Author Topic: [DONE][Suggestion] Ability to reset soldier rank after transformation  (Read 1658 times)

Offline B1ackwolf

• Colonel
  • im back...i guess
    • View Profile
Hi, im kinda new to modding and i think this wasnt proposed before (i did my best looking on forums and the ruleset referencies in ufopaedia.com, if thats the case, i apologize in advance) also, i dont know the correct terminology so i hope i can make my points clear enough.

TL;DR: as the title implies, is possible/doable to make a flag/command/line code that goes something like "restartRank: true" and so after you use a transformation, their current rank reference number resets to rookie (i mean 0,i´ll try to use these numbers to help structure my idea) again?.

long version of my question, and a bit of context
Spoiler:
i created a new soldiertype to represent officers, therefore i could separate completely NCOs to COs in my units, renamed the old ranks from private(=0) to sergeant major(=5) to represent seniors/highly seasoned NCOs. The idea is to have to manually pick up promising(?) or just by mere roleplaying ) soldiers, and "promote" them (via soldier transformation) to Lts, Cpt and so on....now the problem im facing currently is that i stablished a minRank to being elegible to attending officer school (in this case is corporal(=3) and the new unit used new rankString ranging from 3rd LT(=0) to Commander(=5), after transforming the unit, it changes into the equivalent rank level(i.e Number) of the new soldierType, in this case it goes from Corporal(=3) to Captain(=3). I make the workaround of having the first three levels (from 0 to 3) to repeat so it correctly advance to the lowest COs hierarchy level, but this still have issues anyways that if i decided to promote a higher ranking soldier instead of the minimum rank required, it jumps to the equivalent numbers (so i have sergeants moving directly to majors, or master Sgt into colonels, lmao).