Author Topic: Post 1.0 - A free art and data set?  (Read 3927 times)

anonilsus

Post 1.0 - A free art and data set?
« on: May 13, 2013, 10:12:51 pm »
As we all know OpenXcom is an engine only. And while most of us already have the original data (and for others it is easy to get in one way or another) I find the idea intriguing to create a whole new data set, release under a permissive license so that there is a whole and complete game to distribute and play.
That is not only useful for playing but also for showing around, getting donations for the programmers, include it onto pc magazine DVDs, gaming sites etc. etc. 
I think Open Transport Tycoon did it this way.

Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, but I am very experienced with art and source code licensing and copyright on an international level. So I know what I am talking about.

To say it once again: That does not mean the original data set will be unplayable or I want this to be a different game. The opposite is true:

For such a project all the rules and game mechanics would be 100% the same. Stats and ideas and game mechanics cannot be copyrighted. No problem there.
That means texts, graphics and music and sound need to be replaced.
Think of Terror from the Deep. That is essentially the same game with different assets.

I do not want shiny new high resolutions and so on.  Instead graphics that capture the same spirit, in the same low resolution and style.
Same goes for texts and music and sfx.

And everything that is code-generated does not need to changed. I am unsure but is the globe a program or a graphic? If it is a program then it can stay exactly as it is.

I am not very good at organizing and coordinating but I am a good composer so I can create a new soundtrack and sfx.

That leaves pixel artists and a combined effort to envision a similar but different story and the equiptment descriptions/research tree etc.

Offline xracer

• Commander
  • X-COM lover, we've gone at it everywhere
    • View Profile