Author Topic: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem  (Read 10126 times)

Offline Orz

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
  • (aka Illamasqua)
    • View Profile
[TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« on: September 21, 2015, 04:37:46 pm »
version: 1.0
build: git 2015-09-18 21:32

The HAMMERHEAD badly needed a remake. So I was looking around to see if anything had been done already and I came across this:



(from StrategyCore's X-Com TFTD Crafts remake-reskin mod)

The LEVIATHAN re-skin also catched my eye. So I throw together a quick mod (removing the TRITON) containing the pertaining GEODATA, MAPS & TERRAIN files. When I load up a random game, however, I notice crew deployment is messed up. And I had already updated crafts.rul to the new soldier capacity (from 12 to 16 for HAMMERHEAD, and 24 to 26 for LEVIATHAN).

I don't believe it's a pathing problem, since aquanauts can walk around every empty spot in the craft as normal (ie. those spots don't act/behave like obstructing walls or something).

I understand vanilla HAMMERHEAD's deployment is as follows:

\  X 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09
Y \ ------------------------------------
00 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
01 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
02 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
03 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
04 | __ __ __ 12 11 10 __ __ __ __
05 | __ __ __ 09 08 07 __ __ __ __
06 | __ __ __ 06 05 04 __ __ __ __
07 | __ __ __ 03 02 01 __ __ __ __
08 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
09 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __

And what I get is this, which makes no sense (since even some of vanilla HAMMERHEAD's default spawn locations stop working):



New HAMMERHEAD's deployment should be as follows (where 'xx' are the new spawn locations):

\  X 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09
Y \ ------------------------------------
00 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
01 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
02 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
03 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
04 | __ __ xx 12 11 10 __ __ __ __
05 | __ __ xx 09 08 07 __ __ __ __
06 | __ __ xx 06 05 04 __ __ __ __
07 | __ __ xx 03 02 01 __ __ __ __
08 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
09 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __

Yet what I get is this (where ** equals missing spawns):

\  X 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09
Y \ ------------------------------------
00 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
01 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
02 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
03 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
04 | __ __ ** 12 11 ** __ __ __ __
05 | __ __ ** 09 08 07 __ __ __ __
06 | __ __ ** ** ** 04 __ __ __ __
07 | __ __ ** 03 02 01 __ __ __ __
08 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
09 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __

The 02 X line is completely missing and, for whatever reason, so are spots 03/06 and 04/06, as as well as 05/04.

As I said, I don't believe this is a pathing problem. Then again, I'm pretty new at this. So what am I missing or doing wrong here?

PS: LEVIATHAN's re-skin also has roughly the same problem (particularly how all troops are missing along the westernmost wall/line, plus some missing spawn spots here and there).

Edit: submitted too early before finishing post.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2015, 11:54:38 pm by Orz »

Offline SIMON BAILIE

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2015, 01:55:16 am »
Check out this mod by Mackus, increases hammerhead to 15 troops with a second door. I'm going to use this myself when I get round to playing TFTD. As for the way the troops are deployed that is weird but I'm sure somebody on the forum can advise you.

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2015, 06:13:44 am »
Interesting.

Online robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2015, 09:39:34 am »
Object-type (Tile_Type: 3) MCDs block the spawning. If a tile contains an object-type MCD, then the spawning for the tile is forbidden-blocked. It doesn't matter if it is walkable.

I guess that those lockers on the walls are object-type, therefore they block the spawning for those tiles.

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #4 on: September 22, 2015, 10:05:07 am »
Object-type (Tile_Type: 3) MCDs block the spawning. If a tile contains an object-type MCD, then the spawning for the tile is forbidden-blocked. It doesn't matter if it is walkable.

I guess that those lockers on the walls are object-type, therefore they block the spawning for those tiles.

Ok, So edit the MCD right?

I'm trying a version of this myself, I'll see what I can do.

Online robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1217
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2015, 10:09:17 am »
You edit the map, removing object-type MCDs form affected tiles.
Or you merge the graphics you want to a wall, so the result MCD can be of wall-type.

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2015, 10:12:16 am »
Already working on that, just need to do the ruleset and then test it I guess.

Tested and it works (see screen shots below)

 I have uploaded my version to the mod site giveing FULL credit to the original Author - Satan Claus - Here
« Last Edit: September 23, 2015, 12:59:41 am by Roxis231 »

Offline Orz

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
  • (aka Illamasqua)
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2015, 02:01:11 am »
Thanks Roxis, that's just wonderfully superb! A million thanks <3

Offline Orz

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
  • (aka Illamasqua)
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem
« Reply #8 on: September 23, 2015, 04:28:57 pm »
BTW, it would be better to reorder the spawn locations (and facing directions for an easier, more intuitive deployment; but that's a personal choice) so that #1 is right next to or in front of the door at least. I've also added SWS capacity to HAMMERHEAD, but that's just me. Here's what it looks like:



HAMMERHEAD
\  X 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09
Y \ ------------------------------------
00 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
01 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
02 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
03 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
04 | __ __ __ 15 13 14 16 __ __ __
05 | __ __ __ 11 09 10 12 __ __ __
06 | __ __ __ 07 03 04 08 __ __ __
07 | __ __ __ 05 01 02 06 __ __ __
08 | __ __ __ __ e x i t__ __ __ __
09 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __

Code: [Select]
    deployment:
      - [4, 7, 0, 4]
      - [5, 7, 0, 4]
      - [4, 6, 0, 4]
      - [5, 6, 0, 4]
      - [3, 7, 0, 2]
      - [6, 7, 0, 6]
      - [3, 6, 0, 3]
      - [6, 6, 0, 5]
      - [4, 5, 0, 4]
      - [5, 5, 0, 4]
      - [3, 5, 0, 3]
      - [6, 5, 0, 5]
      - [4, 4, 0, 4]
      - [5, 4, 0, 4]
      - [3, 4, 0, 3]
      - [6, 4, 0, 5]



Same goes  for LEVIATHAN:


LEVIATHAN
\  X 00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09
Y \ ------------------------------------
00 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
01 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
02 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __
03 | __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ __ 
04 | __ __ __ 28 27 26 25 __ __ __ 
05 | __ __ __ 24 23 22 21 __ __ __ 
06 | __ __ __ 19 14 09 07 __ __ __ 
07 | __ __ __ 16 11 04 01 >>__ __ 
08 | __ __ __ 17 12 05 02 >>__ __ 
09 | __ __ __ 18 13 06 03 >>__ __ 
10 | __ __ __ 20 15 10 08 __ __ __

Code: [Select]
    deployment:
      - [6, 7, 0, 2]
      - [6, 8, 0, 2]
      - [6, 9, 0, 2]
      - [5, 7, 0, 2]
      - [5, 8, 0, 2]
      - [5, 9, 0, 2]
      - [6, 6, 0, 4]
      - [6, 10, 0, 0]
      - [5, 6, 0, 3]
      - [5, 10, 0, 1]
      - [4, 7, 0, 2]
      - [4, 8, 0, 2]
      - [4, 9, 0, 2]
      - [4, 6, 0, 3]
      - [4, 10, 0, 1]
      - [3, 7, 0, 2]
      - [3, 8, 0, 2]
      - [3, 9, 0, 2]
      - [3, 6, 0, 3]
      - [3, 10, 0, 1]
      - [6, 5, 0, 4]
      - [5, 5, 0, 4]
      - [4, 5, 0, 3]
      - [3, 5, 0, 3]
      - [6, 4, 0, 4]
      - [5, 4, 0, 4]
      - [4, 4, 0, 4]
      - [3, 4, 0, 3]



And of course TRITON as well, but I've kept the vanilla version in that case. You get the idea anyway :)



Check out this mod by Mackus, increases hammerhead to 15 troops with a second door. I'm going to use this myself when I get round to playing TFTD. As for the way the troops are deployed that is weird but I'm sure somebody on the forum can advise you.

I had checked that one out previously. The problem with that 1-tile door is that didn't allow for SWS deployment. The second door may be an interesting addition to the LEVIATHAN, however (a big 3-tile door on both sides of the craft, instead of just one).
« Last Edit: September 23, 2015, 05:00:53 pm by Orz »

Offline SIMON BAILIE

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 673
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem (Solved)
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2015, 06:54:43 pm »
Yep would be nice to have the Hammerhead carry up to 16 troops or up to 2 hwp's & 8 troops with a 2 wide door, also I like the idea of 3 wide doors on each side of the Leviathan, 28 troops or 4 hwp's and 12 troops would be perfect. Will keep an eye on how you develop this one.

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem (Solved)
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2015, 12:44:30 am »
Actualy my intention was to recreate the original mod 'warts and all' - I.E. with the original deployments.

However if enough people want it, I'll consider suggestions for changes.

PS: Orz - I'll check out those suggestions this weekend. I'm kinda strapped for time at the moment.

Offline Orz

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
  • (aka Illamasqua)
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem (Solved)
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2015, 06:02:49 am »
Actualy my intention was to recreate the original mod 'warts and all' - I.E. with the original deployments.

PS: Orz - I'll check out those suggestions this weekend. I'm kinda strapped for time at the moment.

No problem. Two separate mods could be offered in tandem: (a) the "classic" deployment, and (b) the "improved" version (with SWS capacity and all). I've been using the latter since yesterday ;)

Also, I just realized! OpenXcom's TFTD port allows aquanauts to be able to walk over and get on top of both the TRITON and HAMMERHEAD. I believe your expertise would be required to implement this feature into the new crafts! Unfortunately, I'm not quite versed in map/craft modding just yet, otherwise I'd do it myself.








Offline xracer

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
  • X-COM lover, we've gone at it everywhere
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem (Solved)
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2015, 06:06:06 am »


Finally after years and years of testing X-Com unit finally get to know how sardines feel :P

Offline Orz

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 147
  • (aka Illamasqua)
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem (Solved)
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2015, 11:54:19 pm »
Also, I just found out (totally by accident by spawning on the very corner of a map) there's some pathing problems for SWS:



So testing on a different map, the SWS cannot "walk" through these 2 tiles immediately in front of the MANTA's headlights (note that this is true of both headlights):



Furthermore, although it can get into this strategic corner...



...it cannot get into this other one (this corner only also applies to aquanauts):



Fix would be much appreciated :)



« Last Edit: September 25, 2015, 12:42:03 am by Orz »

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 484
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
Re: [TFTD] Craft Re-model Crew Deployment Problem (Solved)
« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2015, 12:49:55 am »
Also, I just found out (totally by accident by spawning on the very corner of a map) there's some pathing problems for SWS:

Hmm - OK...

So testing on a different map, the SWS cannot "walk" through these 2 tiles immediately in front of the MANTA's headlights (note that this is true of both headlights):

Right...

Furthermore, although it can get into this strategic corner...

Yes...

It cannot get into this other one:

Ah.

Right, looks like its a combination of MCD, LOFTemps and Map problems.

Also...

Also, I just realized! OpenXcom's TFTD port allows aquanauts to be able to walk over and get on top of both the TRITON and HAMMERHEAD.

They have always been able to do that - I used to use that while playing the original.  You should be able to do this with out any problems in this mod.

Finally after years and years of testing X-Com unit finally get to know how sardines feel :P

Xracer, you could do that with the original HamerHead and Levithan already - I just increased the number of troops stuffed in the can.