aliens

Author Topic: OpenXcom and Tactical RPG's  (Read 11067 times)

Offline DoxaLogos (JG)

• Colonel
  • Squaddie cautiously peering through the breach
    • View Profile
OpenXcom and Tactical RPG's
« on: March 11, 2015, 05:25:44 pm »

One of my favorite turn-based tactical games back in my youth was SSI Gold Box Series.  Something that started my nostalgia kick recently and eventually got me to buy X-COM was playing the Buck Rogers 25th Century “Countdown to Doomsday” CRPG.  I really liked the skill system and that there was space combat in Buck Rogers, and the sci-fi tactical combat was definitely different from the D&D versions (lot more ranged weapons similar to X-COM).  However, it fell kind of flat in some ways.  I couldn’t figure out why, until I started playing X-COM.  The tactical combat is SO MUCH RICHER!  One example is that using cover really means something in X-COM, and the attempt of using cover in Buck Rogers was very very poor and way too abstract.  I won’t go into a detailed analysis between the two, but suffice it to say that Buck Rogers tactical combat is to X-COM is what tic-tac-toe is to Chess.

Anyway, it got me to thinking (I know, I can’t help it) that OpenXCom’s battlescape engine could be married up to a RPG system.  I think it would be cool to create a “tactical” sci-fi RPG with OpenXcom. I can’t help but wonder what Buck Rogers would be like with a better combat system.  Someone might claim that X-COM has RPG elements(you’re playing the role of the organization’s commander), but I should probably clarify my definition.  My definition of CRPG is a game where you take a group of characters of varying abilities and use them throughout a “campaign” or “adventure” to win the game.

What is everyone’s thoughts of seeing a more RPG’ish game with OpenXcom as a starting point?  How would you envision it? 

Offline Hobbes

• Commander
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: OpenXcom and Tactical RPG's