Author Topic: Pedipal - GIMP plugin for converting images to Pedia-compatible palette  (Read 1901 times)

Offline tylor

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Unpack this file to your GIMP folder, usually %UserProfile%/.gimp-2.8 on Windows.

It contains script itself and a reference palette, which is a palette where mandatory Bootypedia colors are in place, and other slots are filled with #B00B15

When you run Gimp, there will be "Make pedia-compatible" option in Images menu, and it does just that with current image. It will ask you for reference palette and filler color, but they are set right by default, so you can just press OK.

Internally it does pretty much what Meridian describes in this https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,4957.msg72548.html#msg72548 post.

UPDATE: 1.0.1 version. Fixed couple of bugs, found thanks to Escavel and Solaris Scorch. One bug was that first color in reference palette was wrong, other was that script failed when there were too few colors in image. Both are fixed
« Last Edit: February 16, 2017, 05:22:58 am by tylor »

Offline Carfax

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 31
  • Question your own beliefs once a year
    • View Profile
Re: Pedipal - GIMP plugin for converting images to Pedia-compatible palette
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2017, 12:56:13 pm »
Oh man this is great. I was just starting to do the same but thankfully checked the forum before.

Regards
Carfax

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9816
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Pedipal - GIMP plugin for converting images to Pedia-compatible palette
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2017, 03:24:56 pm »
Can you please specify what steps are automated exactly? All of them?

Offline tylor

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: Pedipal - GIMP plugin for converting images to Pedia-compatible palette
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2017, 04:38:57 pm »
Steps 2-8. So, you only have to cut image to right size, rest script will do itself.

PS. If you want it to do more, ask, I can add other stuff. Like auto-resizing, saving in specific place in specific format, etc.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 05:30:52 pm by tylor »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9816
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Pedipal - GIMP plugin for converting images to Pedia-compatible palette
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2017, 08:05:55 pm »
OK, and where is this  "Make pedia-compatible" option? Can't see it anywhere. There's no "Images" menu at all - there is only "Image", and it's not there.

EDIT: Sorry, works now... Somehow the files didn't extract properly.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2017, 08:46:09 pm by Solarius Scorch »

Offline Amiga

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 129
  • Amiga4ever....
    • View Profile
    • White Wolf Untold Story PL (my rpg game based on Witcher saga)
Unpack this file to your GIMP folder, usually %UserProfile%/.gimp-2.8 on Windows.

It contains script itself and a reference palette, which is a palette where mandatory Bootypedia colors are in place, and other slots are filled with #B00B15

When you run Gimp, there will be "Make pedia-compatible" option in Images menu, and it does just that with current image. It will ask you for reference palette and filler color, but they are set right by default, so you can just press OK.

Internally it does pretty much what Meridian describes in this https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,4957.msg72548.html#msg72548 post.

UPDATE: 1.0.1 version. Fixed couple of bugs, found thanks to Escavel and Solaris Scorch. One bug was that first color in reference palette was wrong, other was that script failed when there were too few colors in image. Both are fixed


I have some trouble with it.
1. I've opened infranView and resized img to 320x200 + decreased colours to 256
2. In GIMP from IMAGE/Make-Pedia Compatibile
3. Reference Palette XCOM-Ufopedia-Fixed
4. Export as PNG

..and doesn't work...

What I'm doing wrong?

UPDATE
Sorted out now!  I've forgot to name asset as _CPAL and now all working fine!
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 09:35:45 am by Amiga »